Review: My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier.

Title – My Sister Rosa
Author – Justine Larbalestier
Publication Date – January 27th 2016 by Allen & Unwin
ISBN – 9781760112226
RRP – $22.99
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

Che’s little sister Rosa is smart, talented, pretty and a psychopath. Rosa hasn’t hurt anyone.. yet. But Che’s positive it’s just a matter of time until she does.

After yet another move to a different country, Che writes his usual new-city list:
1. Keep Rosa under control.
2. He wants to spar.
3. He wants a girlfriend.
4. He wants to go home.

Che knows his first duty is to Rosa, who’s now playing more complex and disturbing games. How will Che protect Rosa from the world – and more importantly, the world from Rosa?

I received a copy of My Sister Rosa from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. I’ve never read a book by Justine Larbalestier before but as soon as I read the synopsis for this I wanted to read it.

I don’t even know where to start this review. I’ve never read a book like this before and I was hooked from the first chapter. This book and Rosa are so disturbing. Rosa wasn’t made out to be a scary psychopath like the ones out of movies and TV shows, Justine made her human and that’s what made it so much worse because there are people just like her out there in the world.

My Sister Rosa also bought up the whole nature vs. nurture debate. Because Che and Rosa CaAA696UUAAGHLEhave the same parents but come across completely different. The only thing Rosa is concerned about is how useful the people in her life are to her – she doesn’t understand love or what being good means. And Che has friends and people in his like he genuinely cares about.

I think Che and Rosa’s parents have a lot to do with the way Rosa turned out. They didn’t seem to do a lot of parenting and seemed to only care about and love each other. I did end up feeling sorry for their mother for about a minute but then I realised she had decided to close her eyes to what was right in front of her, to choose to believe everything was fine. So I don’t feel sorry for her at all.

There was a very good twist to My Sister Rosa that I should have seen coming, there were so many hints throughout the book but it took me completely by surprise. Not a lot of books have been able to do that which is one reason I gave it five stars.

I really felt awful about Leilani, Maya and Seimone. I don’t think only one person was to blame for what happened but three, Rosa, David and Sally. At least Che had tried to control Rosa. There’s not a lot to say about this book without giving things away.

My Sister Rosa was creepy, insane, gripping and had me completely hooked until the last haunting page.

*Thank you Allen and Unwin New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read My Sister Rosa? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

