Review: The Choice by Nicholas Sparks.

Title – The Choice
Author – Nicholas Sparks
Publication Date – 2008 by Sphere
ISBN – 9780751539257
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Travis Parker has it all – a good job and loyal friends. The last thing he’s looking for is a long term relationship. Until Gabby Holland moves in next door.

Travis has tried to be nice and welcoming to Gabby but for some reason she won’t warm to him. Despite this, Travis is compelled to get to know her. This will lead both Travis and Gabby down a road where an awful choice has to be made. How far would you go for the people you love?

I received a copy of The Choice from Hachette New Zealand. I wasn’t expecting this book because I already own a copy and had read it years ago. I did want to re-read it before I saw the movie and this gave me the perfect excuse.

I’ve said this before but I’m not really into romance books. There are some authors who write those types of books and still have me coming back for more. Nicholas Sparks is definitely one of them. His books aren’t always centered on two people falling in love. Sometimes, most of the time, there’s more going on.

It seemed to me that Gabby and Travis were drawn to one another from the start. Even CakaleSUUAEjumxwhen the little voice in Gabby’s head was telling her is was a bad idea. Neither of them were looking for a relationship when they met. Travis was happy with where his life was and even if Gabby had doubts about some things in her life, she was willing to wait and see what happened. But all that changed as Gabby and Travis got to know each other over a weekend.

Eleven years later, Travis has a really difficult decision to make. He’s only confided in one person about it and they can’t help him. I wouldn’t have a clue what to do in his place. I’d want someone to respect my decision and listen to what I wanted but at the same time I’m not sure I’d have the strength to do it. His wife made her wishes clear but it’s different when it’s a hypothetical scenario in the future and another thing when you’re staring it in the face, especially when you blame yourself for what put you there. That has to be one of the worst places to be.

I liked Gabby and Travis, they were good together and both of them were funny. I also really liked Stephanie, Travis’s sister. I’ve seen some photos of this movie and I don’t think the actors fit the characters, not the ones I had in my head. I’ll give them a chance though.

There were a few things that have been left out of the book which I would have liked to be included. Obviously I can’t say what they are or I’ll be giving things away and I don’t like spoiling people in my reviews.

I hope Nicholas Sparks writes another book soon.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read any of Nicholas Sparks’s books? Leave me a comment and tell me your favourites?

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Choice by Nicholas Sparks.

Leave a Reply

