Top Ten Tuesday (February 23rd): Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Type of Book.

top-10-tues-watercolor

This one might be kind of hard but we’ll see how I go.

starbound-trilogy1. The Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.
I’ve never read sci-fi or things set in space before. But I loved this trilogy! I’m really glad I gave these a chance.

51GHycyol8L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_2. The Murdstone Trilogy by Mal Peet.
I’ve never read a satire book before this. I’m not really sure if I like them because I’ve still only read this one so I can’t really say yet.

'The Witches' review3. The Witches by Stacy Shiff.
I don’t normally read books about history but I have heard about the Salem Witches for years. It was an interesting read but I don’t think I’ll make a habit of it.

illuminaejkt600px-copy4. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.
A bit like The Starbound Trilogy I don’t think I would have normally picked this up but I’d been hearing really good things about it. And again I’m so glad I did because I couldn’t put it down.

The_Martian_20145. The Martian by Andy Weir.
Can you see a theme here? People in space? The first one I read last year was The Martian and I loved this! I loved Mark. I kept seeing this on Bookstagram and my curiosity finally got the better of me and I got it from the library. I didn’t know it was being made into a movie at the time.

232326. The Realm of Possibility by David Levithan.
This is the first book I’ve ever read in verse. I was reading all the books the library had of David Levithan’s and this was one of them. Since then I’ve read one more book in verse.

So apparently that’s all the books I’ve read in the last year that aren’t the kinds of books I normally read. Seems like I read a lot of the same kinds of books.

What have you read in the last year that’s not your usual type of book?

Aimee.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (February 23rd): Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Type of Book.

Leave a Reply

