WWW Wednesday [February 24th 2016] –

fontcandy-23

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading –27766357
I started reading Moth Girls yesterday. From what I’ve read so far it’s full of secrets.

I received a copy of this from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. I’d seen it on their site a few months ago and thought it sounded interesting.

It’s about two girls who went missing five years ago and their friend Mandy who still wonders what happened to them. She blames herself for what happened to them. That’s all I’ve got so far.

Hopefully I can finish it today and see what happened to Tina and Petra.

Recently Finished – 25163300
I finished The Hired Girl the other day. It took me longer than I thought to read it but that’s not a bad thing, I just had a lot going on.

I received a copy of this book from Walker Books Australia and New Zealand to review. It says on the cover of the edition I have that it has the “charm of Little Women and the wit of Anne of Green Gables.” I haven’t read Anne of Green Gables yet but I got a copy of it this month and I hope to read it soon. I want to get a copy of Little Women too.

I’ll be posting a review on this soon so I’m not going to talk about it here but I will say that I liked it but the main character, Joan, was really naive at times which annoyed me.18601430

I mentioned this in the last WWW Wednesday. I received it from Hachette New Zealand to review. I’d never heard of this til a few weeks ago but I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to read the next books in the series.

Deep Blue was a little like Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan but I think I’ll go into that more in my review which I should be posting soon-ish.

If you like adventure, mermaids, magic and the threat of evil destroying the world as they know it then you will definitely like or even love this. I can’t believe I’d never heard about this series until now. 27266645

101 Pieces of Me was also sent to me to review from Walker books Australia and New Zealand. It’s not a very long book and from what I can remember it’s set in England in the 1920’s.

This is another boo with a young naive girl. It was kind of annoying/boring at the start but it did get interesting after around half way. I think I gave this three stars on Goodreads.

I’m hoping to review this at some point this week but I’m not sure yet.

Reading Next – 51tAku-uV2L._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_
I have had The Catalyst on my TBR for a few months now. I bought the book towards the end of last year.

Anyway, I received the sequel, The Reaction, to review from Hachette New Zealand and now I finally have a reason to read it, other than just thinking it sounded like something I’d like. I have so many books on my shelves that have been there for years, unread.

I’m not really sure what this is about, it’s been awhile since I read the synopsis but I know I was interested when I first read it otherwise I wouldn’t have bought it.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments.

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [February 24th 2016] –

    • Yes, that’s annoying too. Joan had good intentions, even if she was a bit naive about what would go wrong, and it was obvious every time. But I am glad to say she did learn.
      I’ve been wondering if I should get V.E. Schwab’s books. They are getting a lot of talk at the moment with the sequel coming out.

      Liked by 1 person

      • If you like fantasy adventure then you should definitely read A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab – it’s brilliant. I just finished the sequel 2 minutes ago and it’s also excellent (not quite as good as the 1st book though… but isn’t that always the way with trilogies?).

        Like

Leave a Reply

