Review: Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly.

Title – Deep Blue
Author – Jennifer Donnelly
Publication Date – January 1st 2015 by Hodder Children’s Books
ISBN – 9781444921205
My Rating – ★★★★/5

On the morning of Serafina’s betrothal her biggest fear should be her reunion with Prince Mahdi but she’s haunted by strange dreams. Dreams that are warning her about the return of an ancient evil. Then, the city is surrounded by assassins.

Now Serafina and her best friend Neela are following the clues from her dreams on a quest to stop a war between the mer nations.

Serafina and Neela need to unite four other mermaids. With them they can form the bonds of sisterhood that will unlock their powers and hopefully uncover the secrets that threaten their world.

I received a copy of Deep Blue from Hachette New Zealand to review. I haven’t read a lot of books about mer-people (or are they just mer??) but the synopsis for this definitely made me want to read the book.

It did remind me a little of the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan but instead of CbYXXZzUUAAaP3Qdemigods there are mermaids. There are six mermaids that need to work together to stop this evil that someone wants to unleash upon all the mer. I didn’t compare the books while I was reading Deep Blue because the world in this book engrossing that I couldn’t focus on anything else.

There were a few things left open at the end of the book but I’m hoping they will be resolved in the next book. Or at some point in the series.

I really liked the world in Deep Blue. It took me a while to get used to everything but not in
a bad way. I loved reading about the history of the mer and all the different settlements. The magic was interesting and different which is a good thing. I can’t remember if the other books I read with mermaids had magic or not but I remember something about some of them having ‘gifts.’

The characters were definitely interesting. I liked the friendship between Sera and Neela. Neela was especially funny at times. But when the six mermaids were together it was interesting to see how they came to work together when none of them believed in what the dreams were telling them to begin with. I really want to learn more about Astrid in the next book. She is one of my unresolved problems.

I’m really looking forward to the next books in this series. There writing and world building were really good. I don’t think it took me long to be completely drawn into this world.  Deep Blue was so addictive that I didn’t want to put it down. I hope the rest of the series are just as good.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Deep Blue or the other books in the Waterfire Saga? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought. Spoiler free though 🙂

– Aimee.

9 thoughts on “Review: Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly.

  1. This sounds interesting! I LOVED These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly’s most recent book, and I’ve been wanting to explore her other novels as well. I don’t think I’ve ever read a mer-people book. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

