WWW Wednesday [March 9th 2016] –

fontcandy-23

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading –24934065
I started Rebel of the Sands last night. I’m not that far in but so far I like what I’ve read.

I received a copy of this to review from Allen and Unwin New Zealand last month. I’m really behind with all my review books. Life has gotten in the way of my reading a bit in the last few weeks. Hopefully I can catch up soon.

I’m not really sure what this is about. I think there’s going to be some kind of rebellion but I don’t know what they’ll be rebelling against yet.

I love this cover though. It’s all shiny and pretty!

Recently Finished – 18196040
I finished The Walled City yesterday. Last month I read Wolf by Wolf and really enjoyed that so I decided to get The Walled City from the library too and see if what it was like.

I am now a fan of Ryan Graudin’s. The two books of her’s that I’ve read (because she only has two out I think) I’ve been completely hooked while reading. The Walled City did take me a little longer to get into than Wolf by Wolf but once I did I was hooked. I was drawn into her character’s lives and I needed to know how their story ended.

I’ll definitely be checking the library when the sequel to Wolf by Wolf comes out later in the year. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Yael. 28054832

The Reaction is the sequel to The Catalyst which I read recently. Both books are brilliant. I like The Reaction a little bit more but they were both insanely good.

I was sent a copy of The Reaction to review from Hachette New Zealand last month. Hopefully my reviews of both The Catalyst and The Reaction will be up on my blog soon.

I don’t really want to talk about them much because I’ll be reviewing them but I think they are definitely worth giving a go. The way Helena weaves the story together, to keep you hooked and guessing throughout the book, is so good. The Catalyst was her debut novel and I can’t wait to see what’s next for this series.

103684-FCT2

Not If I See You First is Eric Lindstrom’s debut novel. It follows Parker as she navigates her teenage drama and comes to realise not everything is as it seems.

Parker is blind. I’ve never read a book where the protagonist is blind before but I’m glad I read this one. Again, I’m not going to get into it here because I’ll be reviewing it soon but it’s just so good! I couldn’t put it down and ended up reading it in one sitting.

I really liked Parker and her friends. This book is full of really colourful characters that I didn’t feel like I was missing anything because Parker couldn’t describe the world around her in a visual way. She’s just such a great character that I forgot she was blind, she was just Parker.

I received a copy of Not If I See You First from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. Eric’s first book was so good that I am looking forward to seeing what he’ll write next. 9781447260851

Firewalker is the sequel to Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini. I think I read Trial by Fire last year but I’m not sure.

I got a copy of Firewalker from the library a few weeks ago. I liked the first book and really enjoyed this one too. I think it was better this time because I knew about the different worlds and most of the characters. There were a few new ones but not so many that it was confusing.

I really want to read the next book soon because the ending of this one was insane. So much was going on and even though I could see then ending coming because I was running out of pages it ended in a really annoying place. Too many things have been left up in the air.

I don’t know if I’ll be reviewing this or not yet. I think I will though.

isbn9781472221339-1x2a

I finished The Butterfly Summer on the weekend (I think, my memory is horrible). Anyway, it took me a while to get into it but once I did I enjoyed it.

This is another book I’ll be reviewing soon. I was sent a copy of The Butterfly Summer from Hachette New Zealand to review.

I don’t want to say much about this because my review will be up soon but also because I don’t want to give anything away. I went into this book blind. There isn’t a big synopsis on the back on my copy. I’m not sure if having more of one would have helped me get into the story faster or not. Bit too late now. I did end up liking it though.

Reading Next – 9780718178383
This is another book I picked up from the library. I have no idea how many books there are in this series but I really want to read them all. I have decided to stop finishing series if I don’t like the books but I think I’m going to with this one. The books aren’t my favourite but they aren’t bad. And I do like them.

So that’s my WWW Wednesday for another week. What have you been reading lately? Let me know in the comments.

– Aimee.

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [March 9th 2016] –

Leave a Reply

