Review: The Butterfly Summer by Harriet Evans.

Title – The Butterfly Summer
Author – Harriet Evans
Publication Date – February 11th 2016 by Headline Review
ISBN – 9781472221339
My Rating – ★★★

Keepsake is a magical place, full of wonder… and danger. Locked behind the crumbling walls hides a long, twisted family history and the story of a Butterfly Summer.

This house is Nina Parr’s birthright. It’s hiding the truth about her family – and the chance to make everything right.

I received a copy of The Butterfly Summer from Hachette New Zealand to review. I can’t remember why this stood out to me but I’m glad it did.

Nina grew up not knowing much about her father’s side of the family. He died when she was six months old. When things about her family are revealed out of the blue Nina finds herself digging for clues, determined to understand what’s going on.

The Butterfly Summer is told in two perspectives. One is Nina’s and the other is her CcblntGUsAAHSD_grandmother, Teddy’s. They are both writing about what happened to them. Nina, three years later and Teddy at the end of her life. I did click to the hidden connection between Nina and Teddy before it was revealed and thought it was a great twist to the story.

There were so many disturbing things that happened in the Parr history. I don’t understand how Keepsake affected the Parr women or what some of them did there. I especially don’t understand why they would willingly do that to themselves..

It tool me a few days to get into The Butterfly Summer but once I did I enjoyed it. I liked that Nina and Teddy’s stories were told in between the other so it wasn’t all told at once and left you wanting more while you learned more about one of the women. And even though I figured out Teddy’s secret it didn’t make me like the story any  less.

I liked how The Butterfly Summer was set out and it covered a lot of different topics, like war, being gay during a time when it was still seen as wrong, guilt the London Riots. I didn’t know the London Riots were going to be in the book but it was interesting to read about it. If only for the short time is was mentioned.

I think the reason it took me longer to get into this book than it normally takes me is because I went into the book blind and it was a bit confusing at the start. It didn’t take me long to figure it out and then I couldn’t put it down.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read The Butterfly Summer? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

