Review: Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom.

Title – Not If I See You First
Author – Eric Lindstrom
Publication Date – January 1st 2016 by HarperCollins Children’s Books
ISBN – 9780008146344
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Parker lost her sight at an early age and that’s when she came up with The Rules – don’t treat her any different because she’s blind and never take advantage. There are no second chances. Ask Scott, the boy that broke her heart.

When the local high schools merge, Scott reappears in her life and Parker decides there is only one way she can react to this – to act as if he’s not there. She’s got enough going on in her life already. Like giving herself a gold star for every day she doesn’t cry over her father’s death, handing out tough-love advice to her classmates and trying out for the track team. Just because she can’t see anymore doesn’t stop her from running every morning.

But avoiding the past always comes back to haunt her – with both her dad and Scott – and the more she learns about what happened the more she starts to question if anything is as it seems. Maybe some of her Rules are meant to be broken…

I received a copy of Not If I See You First from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. I’ve never read a book where the protagonist is blind before. That’s the main reason this book stood out to me.

Parker was in an accident when she was a child which resulted in her losing her sight. I CcqbvEPUAAAdweUfound Parker really blunt, which sometimes came across as bitchy. She can’t see how the people around her react to the things she says but she’s not deaf to the awkward silences. Her friends are amazing, they stood by her through the hard times when others disappeared. She has one that she talks to every night and they go over everything that Parker missed, like how some people react to her comments.

Parker can’t describe what the world looks like around her but it never felt like I was
missing anything. She might not be able to see but Parker had her own way of describing things. The characters were so captivating and there was so much going on in the story that even though I knew Parker was blind it wasn’t the main focus of the book and she was just Parker.

I’d never thought about what life would be like to be blind and especially not in high school. Parker obviously needed help in class with what the teachers write on the boards. It would also take her longer to get the reading assignments done if she listened to audio books, which Parker preferred to braille. One thing Parker did with her clothes which I thought was smart was putting braille onto the labels so she could pick out her own clothes every day and be able to have more independence.

Not If I See You First is such a brilliant debut novel. I can’t wait to see what his next book will be about. I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone. Yes, it is set in high school and there is that “high school drama” but it has a lot more going on too. For me it was about friendship, acceptance and most of all forgiveness.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Not If I See You First? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

7 thoughts on “Review: Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom.

Leave a Reply

