Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton.

Title – Rebel of the Sands
Author – Alwyn Hamilton
Publication Date – February 4th 2016 by Faber & Faber
ISBN – 9780571325252
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

Amani’s home is not the best place to be poor, an orphan and female. But the place she calls ‘home’ she’s dreamed of escaping since she was a child to see the world she’s only heard about in stories.

When a foreign boy turns up in her small town Amani sees an escape out of her life and flees with him. But the desert is full of dangerous magic and the Sultan has plans for his country. Amani finds herself at the heart of a rebellion.

I received a copy of Rebel of the Sands from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. I’d seen this on Goodreads a lot last year so when I had the chance to request a copy to review I didn’t hesitate.

I hate reading books where women are treated as a man’s property and are only good for CdDx1B9VAAA60r3producing children and being maids. Not that I hate this book, it’s just one of my pet peeves I guess. Unlike other books I’ve read with the same thing this book has people, women and men, ready to fight to change the country they live in for the better for everyone. Although I think the women need it more.

There are a few magical creatures that I’d heard of before Rebel of the Sands, like Djinn,
skinwalkers and gouls. I always love when authors add their own twists to the myths. I hadn’t heard of Demji before I read this and haven’t done any research to see if there are myths because I just want to leave the Demji in this world for now. They did remind me a little of warlocks from The Mortal Instruments though with their Demji marks, like a
warlock has a mark. Their magic is different though.

This book was so addictive. There’s magic, a rebellion, a strong female lead and a little bit of a romance happening. I really liked that the connection between Amani and Jin didn’t seem forced to me and just came naturally through the books. Not the love at first sight crap. I don’t really do a lot of romance but I liked watching Amani learn to trust him.

I gave Rebel of the Sands five stars on Goodreads. Not only because the book is beautifully written and full of magic but also because there’s a little surprise to do with Amani that comes out later in the book that I didn’t see coming. I can normally predict these kinds of things but I didn’t this time. I always give books that manage to take me by surprise a star just for that.

I think Rebel of the Sands deserves all the stars. For the reasons I just mentioned and because this is Alwyn Hamilton’s debut novel. I cannot wait to see what she’s got in store for us in the sequel. This is the first book in a trilogy.

*Thank you Allen and Unwin New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Rebel of the Sands? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

5 thoughts on “Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton.

Leave a Reply

