Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

Title – Passenger
Author – Alexandra Bracken
Publication Date – January 25th 2016 by HarperCollins
ISBN – 9781460752043
My Rating – ★★★★/5

In one night Etta Spencer lost everything she’s ever known and loved. She’s been pulled back in time to 1776 in the middle of a battle. Etta has not only traveled miles but also years from her home.

With the arrival of this strange passenger on his ship, Nicholas Carter is now confronted with something from his past that he hasn’t been able to escape and the powerful Ironwood’s, who won’t let him go without a fight. The Ironwoods are looking for an object of power, one they think only Etta can find.

Now, Etta and Nicholas must set of on a dangerous journey across centuries and continents, following clues left in a letter. As they closer to the hidden object and the truth behind why the Ironwoods are so desperate to get their hands on it other forces threaten to separate Etta from Nicholas and her way back home, forever.

I received a copy of Passenger from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. This has been on my TBR for months so I was really excited to have the chance to review a copy.

I’ve only read one other book with time travel and I loved that. I think the reason I enjoy Cdyt7l1UYAEfMJPbooks with time travel is because I can enjoy more than one ‘time’ in the one story. I don’t have a problem reading books set in the same place and time but reading about someone travelling through different events and times is really enjoyable. I might have to find more time travelling books.

Passenger is told in both Etta and Nicholas’s perspectives. I really liked Etta. I did get
annoyed that she didn’t say what she was thinking sometimes, especially to Cyrus Ironwood. She’s smart, independent and strong. Etta was faced with the fact that a huge part of her family’s history has been kept from her. Instead of getting angry she’s determined to get this object and save her future from the Ironwoods.

Nicholas annoyed me. I think part of it was because he used violence to get what he wanted. I don’t like the kinds of people who use their fists to settle things. There was something else about him but it’s hard to put into words. The way he’d think about Etta, like she was property to be owned was something that really annoyed me. I don’t know if it was because of the time he came from but it really drove me crazy.

I’ve never read a book by Alexandra Bracken before. I have seen her other books online but haven’t gotten around to reading them. Maybe one day.

Aside from Nicholas I really enjoyed Passenger. I would have given it five stars but I couldn’t because of Nicholas. Also, some parts did drag for me. There was a lot descriptions about what Etta was wearing and I’m not really into the small details but I get why they were included. But overall I loved it. There was a little cliffhanger at the end and I’m really looking forward to finding out what happened to Etta in the next book.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Passenger? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

9 thoughts on “Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

  1. I loved Passenger too , I did like Nicolas though, he did annoy me for the same reason you said but anytime it was a chapter from his POV I liked him more but when it was from Ettas his actions seemed more annoying (if that makes sense )

    Like

  2. Woow lucky you received this book as a free copy!! 😀 I intend to read it too ahaha 🙂 Yeah.. guys who think girls are property to be owned kind of *suck* sorry for the term LOL totally get what you feel

    Liked by 1 person

    • They really do suck! Like I said in my review though, I don’t know if it was because of the “time” he was from or if it was actually something he thought. I’m going to wait and see in the next book if I like him or not. For now, he’s just annoying.

      Like

  3. Oooh it ends on a cliffie?!
    Great review, Aimee! I’m always excited to see what people think of the characters because – let’s face it – they are the thing that most affects my reading experience and enjoyment.
    I’m going to give Nicholas a pass because I haven’t read this yet, and I think it could really be that the time period means that women are essentially property. So I’ll withhold judgement 😉

    I actually realised that I haven’t even read the synopsis for this before! Which is insane because I’ve heard so many things about it!
    I think I’ll keep this on my TBR.. I do love time travel stories. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is a good one, although not YA… I also just read the Syndicate by Sophie Davis which was quite interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking it was the time he’s from too so I’m holding out judging him until I read the next book but I still hate his tendency for violence.
      Ooh I have read The Time Traveler’s Wife years ago and loved it! I’ll have to look into The Syndicate!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

