Review: Maestra by L.S. Hilton.

Title – Maestra
Author – L.S. Hilton
Publication Date – March 10th 2016 by Zaffre
ISBN – 9781785760839
My Rating – ★★★/5

Judith’s day job is an assistant at a London auction house. At night she’s a hostess at an unsavory bar. Judith knows she has to play the game if she’s going to make something of herself. She’s learned to dress, speak and act in the interest of men.

After uncovering a secret in the auction house, Judith is fired and her dreams of a better life go up in smoke. So she decides to turn to an old friend. A friend that kept her chin up and back straight with every slight. Her good friend, Rage.

I received a copy of Maestra from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. I thought this sounded interesting when I read the synopsis but I wasn’t expecting this. I didn’t do any research before I requested a copy to review. I probably should have.

I’m going to say this now in case you don’t already know.. This is an adult book. There are a few graphic sex scenes which I’m not going to go into here but there was one or two that were a bit too much. I don’t read books with this much sex in them and I’ not sure if I would have read it if I had known before.

I don’t have a problem with sex in books. Judith is a single, consenting adult so there was CeGxyf6W8AEgnADno problem there. It was just some of the things Judith and the men did that I found to be way too much information. But anyway, moving on.

Maestra reminded me a little of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and Luckiest Girl Alive by
Jessica Knoll. I found Judith as hard to like as Amy and Ani. All three characters are calculated and willing to do anything to get what they want. It was interesting to see how far Judith was willing to go to get where she wanted to be.

There were parts of this book that bored me and I felt the story dragged on in places. All the talk about clothes, bags and antiques just got to be too much. I didn’t need to know which designers people were or weren’t wearing. I get that having these things equaled status to Judith but it just bored me.

Some other things that bored me were the descriptions of places that I didn’t think were relevant to the story. Talking about food and drinks in the local languages of countries Judith was in at the time without translating. I couldn’t be bothered Googling any of it to find out what the author was talking about. It happened to often and would just be too much. Lastly, some of the art history got to be a bit tedious. I understand that art meant a lot to Judith but I found my mind wandering when the descriptions when on for pages.

But, I did enjoy reading about all the things Judith got up to. It was like watching a car crash, you know it’s horrible but for some reason you can’t look away. Judith wasn’t afraid to get blood on her hands to get to where she wanted to go.

After all this I’m not sure if I’ll be reading the sequel. I do want to know what Judith will do next but I’m not sure if I want to read the same kinds of things that were in this book in the next one. At the moment, I doubt I’ll be picking it up. I don’t feel like I usually do when I’ve finished one book and know there will be another one, where I’m desperate to get my hands on it. For Maestra and the sequel I think I can live with not knowing. I decided at the start of this year that I’m not going to force myself to continue on with a series if I don’t like the first book and so I think this falls in with that.

*Thank you Allen and Unwin New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Maestra? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

