Review: Storm Siren by Mary Weber.

Title – Storm Siren
Author – Mary Weber
Publication Date – August 19th 2014 by Thomas Nelson/HarperCollins
ISBN – 9781401690342
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

Seventeen-year-old Nym is a slave. Not only does she not have rights as a slave but she’s also an Elemental. Normally Elementals are only male and killed at birth – so Nym shouldn’t exist.

Nym is now being sold for the fifteenth time. When her hood is torn away and her storm summoning curse is revealed, Nym is bought by a court advisor and given two choices – be trained as the weapon her country needs to win the war or be killed.

Nym chooses to be trained and is thrust into a world of politics, parties and rumors of an evil she’s not prepared to fight. Not to mention her mysterious trainer who has the strange ability to calm her storms Nym summons and is hiding secrets of his own.

But what if Nym doesn’t want to be used as a weapon?

I received a copy of Storm Siren from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. I’d been seeingCfJxPjRUAAEDGpH this book online a lot because the third book in the trilogy being released so I was excited to get the opportunity to review it.

I couldn’t put this book down, the writing and Nym had me hooked within the first
chapters. The world in Storm Siren is so gripping and full of magic, hidden agendas and a few twists that I didn’t see coming. There was so much happening behind the scenes that I kept being shocked.

I really liked Nym. She’d been through a lot in her seventeen years, seen a lot of horrible things. Nym carries a lot of guilt for things that were out of her control. But she’s still strong and desperate to find a way to control her curse so she might be able to help instead of only destroying.

I also really liked Breck, Colin and Eogan. I liked Breck’s attitude, Colin’s sense of humor and loyalty. They were both really entertaining. Eogan, Nym’s trainer, was a bit closed off at the start but he was so mysterious and it drew me in and I did not figure any of his past out before it came out.

I loved Storm Siren, I loved the world, the magic and the writing. I really want to read the next to books in the trilogy soon. That ending was insane! I was left looking at the last page with that cliffhanger thinking “you cannot be serious!!” I did not see that coming at all.

*Thank you HarperCollins for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Storm Siren? What did you think of it?

– Aimee.

3 thoughts on “Review: Storm Siren by Mary Weber.

  1. Oooh, I remember you telling me about this book, Aimee! I was pretty sold when you told me about it, but after reading your review, this sounds DELIGHTFUL. It kinda sounds like Red Queen (though I know Storm Siren came first), so I defs need to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a bit like Red Queen but different. Obviously Nym and Mare kind of have the same power and are used as weapons but I think that’s about it. Oh, probably the slaves too. I almost forgot that part. I’d need to read the next book to see how similar they are but I don’t want to compare them.
      You should read it though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

