Review: MARTians by Blythe Woolston.

Title – MARTians
Author – Blythe Woolston
Publication Date – January 7th 2016 by Walker Books
ISBN – 9781406341393
My Rating – ★★/5

In the world of consumerism gone crazy, those who can, shop and those who can’t, survive.

Zoe Zindleman has graduated early from school and started work at AllMART where “your smile is the AllMART welcome mat.”

Learning to provide the perfect shopping experience isn’t everything Zoe hoped it would be. Like all the other kids in the Warren that have been left behind, Zoe is looking for something. Something money can’t buy – love.

I received a copy of MARTians from Walker Books Australia to review.

When I first read the synopsis of this it did sound like something that might be interestingCfkTjgaVIAEhizv and different to what I usually read. And it definitely was different. I don’t know if I missed something while I read this but it just wasn’t for me. Some parts were interesting but overall I just wasn’t that into it.

I think some things that happened weren’t completely explained or not at all which was confusing and annoying. I don’t want to ruin the book for anyone by going into what wasn’t explained or just left unresolved. I think the ones that really bothered me was about Zoe’s family. That’s all I’m going to say.

I don’t think MARTians was a bad story, I just didn’t get it. Zoe’s world, or the world she grew up in, is all about shopping and giving customers the best shopping experience. Obviously there are people that shop a lot and spend ridiculous amounts of money on things but it’s their money so why not? I’ve grown up knowing that I can’t have everything I want so I am kind of fussy about what I want to spend my money on now. I don’t want to waste it on things I won’t use or will only wear once. But, that’s me. Probably one reason I didn’t click with this book.

I don’t really have much to say about this book other than it just wasn’t for me. I really don’t want to spoil anything for those that haven’t read it so I can’t really say a lot. Just because I didn’t like MARTians doesn’t mean others haven’t. If we all liked the same things life would be very, very boring.

*Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read MARTians? What did you think of it?

– Aimee

Leave a Reply

