Top Ten Tuesday (May 3rd): Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh.

top-10-tues-watercolor

I’ve been really slack with my Top Ten Tuesday posts lately. I meant to do this one a couple of weeks ago and missed it. So I decided to do it today because I’m not really into today’s theme.

imrs1. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling – 

I don’t know how many times I’ve read these books but they still make me laugh. The Weasley twins are hilarious, Ron even has his moments.

I recently read the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and even that had me laughing a few times.

2. Percy Jackson and the Olympians & Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan – 

picmonkey-collage2The sass in these books! I love Percy and Leo, they’re both hilarious. I have read Percy Jackson and the Olympians twice and Heroes of Olympus once.

I’m looking forward to reading The Sword of Summer and The Trials of Apollo. I don’t want to get my expectations up because I didn’t really like The Kane Chronicles but I think that they’re up already. Especially because Apollo will be going to Camp Half-Blood!!

Even the books Rick wrote in Percy’s perspective about the Greek Gods and Heroes are hilarious, if a little disturbing in places.

985870_Fotor_Collage_Fotor3. A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin – 

Okay so these books have a lot of blood and death but they are also funny in places. I don’t know a lot of people who enjoy the books as much as I do but there are some on my Instagram that I talk to.

My favourite character that always makes me laugh is Tyrion. He’s always so sarcastic and uses his wit instead of his fists. It doesn’t always work out for him but he’s always funny when he insults people.

Jaime also has some funny parts. Especially from the third book on. He changed a lot in the books and I hated him at the start but now he’s grown on me.

81N-m6WpExL4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – 

Okay so TFIOS isn’t funny all the time but it did make me laugh even while I was crying.When Issac was doing his eulogy for Augustus (I think I’m far past spoiling this book for anyone but my bad if you haven’t read the book or seen the movie) was really sad but hilarious.

Then there was the part where Hazel, Augustus and Issac egg his ex-girlfriends car. That was funny because Issac couldn’t see and Augustus was trying to help him aim.

I think I’ve read TFIOS three times now and it still makes me laugh and cry. I haven’t read all of John’s books but this is definitely my favourite.

Apparently I don’t read many funny books. The only others I can think of is The Mortal Instruments and that’s only Jace that’s funny for me so I can’t really count it because even though he did make me laugh he’s kind of depressing and frustrating most of the time.

These are the only ones I could come up with. I did Google funny YA books but the ones that came up I either haven’t read or didn’t find funny. Like Me and Earl and the Dying Girl came up a lot and that book was just a waste of time. I regret ever reading that and don’t understand how it was published.

So I’m giving up after only finding four funny books/series to share. Even though every one of these books is filled with death, suffering and blood they are funny too.

What are some funny books you’ve read?

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (May 3rd): Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh.

Leave a Reply

