Tag: Intimidating TBR Book Tag.

the-intimidatingtbr-book-tag

I was going to do my Top Ten Tuesday today but I don’t visit any non bookish sites daily other than Outlook and Twitter so I decided to do this tag instead. I’m not sure how far I’ll get.

What book have you been unable to finish?
The Woman in Black and Other Ghost Stories by Susan Hill. I was sent a copy of this to review from Allen and Unwin New Zealand last year and I think I managed to read three stories and couldn’t get past the fourth. It was putting me into a really bad mood and I could feel a reading slump coming on.
I did feel bad not being able to finish a review book but it was just so badly written in my opinion. The story I gave up on was in two perspectives and there was no clue whose point of view you were in from chapter to chapter. I did want to try again one day but I don’t know if I will.

What book have you yet to read because…

…you just haven’t had the time?
Um, so many.. I’ve had books sitting on my shelves for years unread. But to narrow it down a little I’m going to say the classics I’ve got in the last year. I’ve wanted to be able to just focus on them but I’ve had too many review books and not enough time. Hopefully one day.

…it’s a sequel?
I can think of two off the top of my head. The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen and A Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray. I was so excited to get these books and I just haven’t read them.

…it’s brand new?
None. The latest book I got was The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan and I picked it up as soon as I’d finished Flawed by Cecelia Ahern. Normally it would go to the bottom of my review pile but because it’s Riordan and I love the Percy Jackson world I couldn’t wait that long to read it.

…you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?
I’m going with Rick Riordan again here. I loved all of his books that I’ve read… Except The Kane Chronicles. Those three books took me so long to read and in the end I didn’t even think they were worth me forcing myself to finish them. I’m not sure if it was because I’m not really into Egyptian gods or if I didn’t like the characters. Β But these books weren’t for me.

…you’re just not in the mood for it?
Right now I’m not in the mood for a cheesy romance so I’ve been putting off Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I read Anna and the French Kiss last year and surprisingly really liked it but it was kind of cheesy in places and I just haven’t been in the mood for that kind of drama.

…it’s humongous?
After reading A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin a few years ago I don’t think anything is as big as that on my TBR. I have been put of by a book’s size recently but I’ve already finished it so I can’t count it here anymore. A Dance with Dragons was 1117 pages, The City by Stella Gemmell (which I read last week) was 550+ andΒ I’d just finished A Feast for Crows which was 700+ pages. I think going from one fantasy to another is what was putting me off.

…because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?
The last cover buy I got was The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. I don’t know if it has poor reviews or not but I still haven’t read it. I have talked to someone who struggled a bit with it which may have put me off a little.

What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?
I think this will have to be Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I got this for my birthday in January. I really want to read it but I don’t know. I just haven’t picked it up. I need the time and to be in the right mood for it I think.

That wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. Especially since I did it all off the top of my head.

– Aimee.

8 thoughts on “Tag: Intimidating TBR Book Tag.

    • I will. I’ll probably try to squeeze it in next month. My TBR for this month is already figured out but I’ve pushed one book onto it. I can’t believe I’ve left it this long though.

      Like

  1. I totally agree with you on The Kane Chronicles.. I love Rick Riordan’s Writing but I DNF the first book of this series/trilogy.

    Maybe because it’s Egyptian? Or the characters? I’m not too sure. But his other books are amazing! Percy Jackson is the bomb!πŸ˜πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

