WWW Wednesday [May 11th 2016] –

fontcandy-23

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading – 1812
I received a copy of The Hidden Oracle to review from Penguin Random House on Monday and as soon as I’d finished reading Flawed I picked this up. Normally I read other books I’ve gotten for review before the recent ones but I just couldn’t wait. I’ve missed this world since I finished The Blood of Olympus and wanted to dive back in straight away.

Plus, Apollo was hilarious when Percy and the others had to deal with him in the other books so I was really interested to see how this would work with him becoming mortal as a punishment from Zeus.

I’m at the halfway point now and I am loving this book. I’ve already gotten updates on Annabeth, Percy, Leo and Nico. Plus the others from the Heroes of Olympus but these are my favourite characters. I’m excited to see what Apollo is going to do in this series. 51+5Ck8mCXL

I’m also reading The Art of Being Normal which I picked out for my Neverland Book Bingo and was also sent to me to review from Scholastic New Zealand.

I just reached halfway this morning and I am really liking this so far. I don’t think I’ve read a book with someone who wants to transition before. I have to say I am learning new things from this book which is brilliant but I was always open minded about transgender. I just didn’t know a few things. I don’t want to give anything away but I’ll talk about it in my review, it’s not a spoiler just something I’d never thought about before.

I’ve also never read a book that’s been endorsed by Amnesty International UK before. I didn’t even notice until I was telling someone what the book was about.

Recently Finished – Flawed-cover
I was sent a copy of Flawed from HarperCollins New Zealand out of the blue and I had been looking it up online a few days before it just randomly turned up at my door. Not that I was complaining, I was interested in reading this anyway.

This book is a little disturbing. The society that Celestine lives in sounds absolutely horrible. Celestine is a logical person so when she sees something that is illogical happening in front of her and no one is doing anything about it, Celestine steps in to show everyone that it’s wrong. That’s when her world changes forever. One act of compassion and her life will never be the same again.

I’ll be doing a full review of this soon so I’m not going to go into it too much here but as much as this book made me cringe (not from bad writing) I couldn’t put it down. I cannot wait for the sequel to come out next year. 13206828

I have finally re-read Cress. The problem now is I want to pick up Winter but I can’t. I have too many review books sitting in my room and I just cannot fit it in this month. I’m hoping I can read Winter next month.

I am glad that I re-read Cress. Not just because I forgot some things that happened and am not refreshed but because I was able to give Cress a second chance. I remember her annoying me so much the first time I read the book with her obsession with Thorne. Now I kind of get it. I didn’t really take into account that she’d been alone for years on a small satellite. Yes, Cress still annoyed me but I like her now. She’s still a bit cheesy with Thorne though.

Anyway I think I’m going to review this too. I’ve already reviewed Cinder and Scarlet. Can’t leave Cress out. Stella-Gemmell-The-City-chapter-1

I think I said this in my last WWW Wednesday but I will say it again. I was sent a copy of The Immortal Throne to review from Penguin Random House and I hadn’t even heard of it before. When I saw it was a sequel I requested a copy of the first book, The City, from the library.

I will admit that it did take me a few days to get into this, get used to the writing style and how the book was set out but once I did I found myself enjoying it. I think my problem was I’d just read two books from the Song of Ice and Fire series and I wasn’t in the mood for another fantasy but I pushed through it and am really glad I did.

I’ll be reviewing this soon and hopefully reading the sequel soon too. I gave this four stars on Goodreads though, just to let you know how much I liked this.

Reading Next – 16069030
I have picked my next book for the Neverland Book Bingo a little early so that I could post something here. Last week I didn’t and it kind of annoyed me.

One of the rules of the Neverland Book Bingo is that we made a little TBR jar of the books on the bingo board and we draw the books out randomly, like a bingo game.

So far I’ve crossed two books off my board and am on the third book now. I think reading two books at the same time is helping to knock books off my TBR pile a little faster but I’m not sure.

What have you been reading lately?

– Aimee.

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [May 11th 2016] –

    • I’ve finished both The Art of Being Normal and The Hidden Oracle and loved them both. I can’t believe I have to wait a year for the next book in The Trials of Apollo series…
      But Flawed was so good! We’ll have to wait a year for the sequel to that too…

      Like

  1. Flawed is great. I can’t wait for the next part of the story in which I hope Celestine brings the whole unjust system crashing down! 🙂 I also thought the idea of trial by media was handled very well (with the footballer getting off because the media made it look like his infidelity was his wife’s “fault”).
    I enjoyed Cress but I agree you have to remind yourself she’s socially awkward because she’s been without human interaction for years, otherwise she can become annoying.
    I sympathise with you not being able to get to Winter because you have a pile of review books. I’ve been wanting to read Outlander for months… and yet I don’t feel like I’m any closer. Hopefully I can get to it in June :/

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/05/11/www-wednesday-11th-may-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope Celestine brings the system down but more importantly, Crevan. Omg, he’s such an ass! Oh, that really pissed me off, with the wife being blamed for her husband cheating.
      I hope you can get to Outlander soon! I’m hoping to read Winter next month *fingers crossed*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

