Review: This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang.

Title – This is Where the World Ends
Author – Amy Zhang
Pages – 287 pages
Publication Date – March 22nd 2016 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN – 9780062417879
My Rating – ★★★/5

It’s been Janie and Micah since they were kids, when Janie moved in next door. Janie says Micah is everything she isn’t, Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Micah loves music and Janie loves art. They have the perfect friendship – as long as no one at school finds out.

I received a copy of This is Where the World Ends from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. I have Falling into Place by Amy as well that I purchased last year but I’ve never read it.

This book was a very fast read for me but it wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read. I couldn’t Cgw68kQUoAAL9CVconnect with Janie, she was way too over the top. I didn’t understand why she wanted to keep her friendship with Micah a secret if he meant so much to her. And everything was on Janie’s terms, I don’t get why Micah put up with her to be honest. I’m not sure I would have if she was my friend.

I did feel for Janie with what happened to her and I do kind of understand why she thought
no one would believe her but that’s no reason not to tell anyone. And her plan for revenge was really stupid.

I think the only problem I had with Micah was that he just went along with whatever Janie wanted to to, even when he knew it was a stupid idea.

I did like how the book was told. I had no idea what was going on and did want to keep reading to figure out what was happening. The story was told through Janie’s perspective in the past and Micah’s in the present. I’ve read another book that was told this way but I can’t remember what book it was.

I think the reason I didn’t like this book was because I couldn’t connect with Janie and Micah. I find when I can’t connect with the main characters in a book that it puts me off them and the book. It would have been an interesting story if either of the main characters were likable. I did like the story and like I said before I wanted to know what happened to Janie and Micah but that didn’t help me with the characters.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read any of Amy Zhang’s books? What did you think of them?

– Aimee.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang.

  1. I’ve never read any books by Amy Zhang, but I’ve seen this one quite often. I completely understand that you couldn’t enjoy the book much because you couldn’t connect with the characters. It’s actually a pretty crucial element to make us fall in love with a lot of books! Nice review! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Like

    • It is one of the biggest reasons that I fall in love with books. When I don’t like the main characters there’s no way I can like the book even if the story was interesting. Thanks for reading it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

