Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling and Jim Kay.

Title – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Series – Harry Potter Series #1
Author – J.K. Rowling
Illustrator – Jim Kay
Pages – 248 pages
Publication Date – October 6th 2015 by Bloomsbury
ISBN – 9781408845646
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

When a letter arrives for unhappy but ordinary Harry Potter, a decade-old secret is revealed to him that apparently he’s the last to know. His parents were wizards, killed by a Dark Lord’s curse when Harry was just a baby, and which he somehow survived. Leaving Cgd65wkXEAA1RJphis unsympathetic aunt and uncle for Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Harry stumbles upon a sinister mystery when he finds a three-headed dog guarding a room on the third floor. Then he hears of a missing stone with astonishing powers, which could be valuable, dangerous – or both. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

I’ve read the Harry Potter series so many times that I’ve lost count. But that doesn’t mean
I don’t enjoy them. I was really excited when I heard that the series was going to be illustrated.

I got my copy of this for Christmas last year from my mother. I’m pretty sure she thought I was mental wanting it but she knows how much I love this series.

CgnkJTNUYAA8phlI wanted to read it straight away but had a lot of review books to read first (still do) but as part of a group I’m in on Goodreads we had to read a children’s book and I thought of this. I was also able to cross a category off my PopSugar Reading Challenge too.

It was a different experience to read an illustrated edition of  Philosopher’s Stone. I loved
all of the illustrations and think Jim Kay did a beautiful job of bringing these characters to life in a new way.

I cannot wait to see the other books when they’re released. I’m especially looking forward to Prisoner of Azkaban and Deathly Hallows. Prisoner of Azkaban has always been my favourite in the series.

I took a lot of photos of the inside of Philosopher’s Stone while I was reading it on CgiEeC4UoAADiPKSnapchat. I’m sure I annoyed everyone that follows me on there but every time I saw something I liked I had to share it. Even if the people looking at the photos didn’t like them.

I think my favourite was when Harry was on Platform 9 3/4. Although there is this cute owl
at the start that made me laugh. I also liked the dragon, the different types of dragon eggs and Hagrid’s Hut.

I think this is the perfect gift for any fan of Harry Potter but I’m so fussy about who I lend my books to (if I do lend them out) that there is no way I’d let any kids near it. I did have it on display on my bookcase but I don’t want anything to happen to it so I’ve put it away for now.

Have you read this edition of Philosopher’s Stone? What did you think?

– Aimee.

HP1_Platform_nine_spread

6 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling and Jim Kay.

  1. I haven’t read any of the HP books, but I do have the hardcover original books waiting after me. It’s only after I’ve completed the collection (just buying, not reading 😀 ) that the illustrated edition of the first book came out…

    Jim Kay really has an amazing talent (I’ve seen him at work with A Monster Calls) and I’d do anything to read the illustrated ones over the hardcover ones I got! 😛 I assume you’re also going to get the 2nd illustrated book once it comes out too? Such a beautiful book to have on your bookshelf!

    – Lashaan

    Like

    • I have two editions of the Harry Potter series, the original covers and the new Bloomsbury ones.
      Now I’ll be collecting the illustrated ones as well. Obviously I love Harry Potter.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Celine Designs

Leave a Reply

