Review: The One in a Million Boy by Monica Wood.

Title – The One in a Million Boy
Author – Monica Wood
Pages – 416 pages
Publication Date – April 5th 2016 by Headline Review
ISBN – 9781472228369
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Ona Vitkus has, not counting three months in the summer of 1914, lived unobtrusively, fiercely protecting her secrets.

The boy, with a passion for world records, changes that. He’s eleven, she’s one hundred and four. The boy makes her feel like she may be special after all, better late than never.

But it’s been two weeks since he last visited and Ona’s starting to wonder if he’s like all the others after all.

Then, one day the boy’s father shows up to finish his son’s good deed. Now Ona must show this stranger that not only are there odd jobs to do but a life’s ambition to complete.

I received a copy of The One in a Million Boy from Hachette New Zealand to review. This didn’t sound like a book I normally read but I’m so glad I gave it a chance.

I’m embarrassed to say it took me around 100 pages to realise that the boy in this story ChAaCP_UkAAO-1jdoesn’t have a name, he’s mostly referred to as “the boy.” I don’t know why he doesn’t have a name but it was in interesting twist to the story.

I really liked Ona. She had a very interesting life story and was funny. I think she was my favourite character in The One in a Million Boy. Although the boy’s father, Quinn, grew on me throughout the book.

Although the boy isn’t in the book much and didn’t know Ona for long, he left an impression on her and changed her life. She decideds to keep his dream alive and go for a world record.

Quinn wasn’t that involved in his son’s life but when his ex-wife asks him to complete the boy’s good deed he starts off reluctant but ends up finding a friend he wasn’t looking for. I enjoyed seeing the friendship between Ona and Quinn grow.

I enjoyed The One in a Million Boy more than I thought I would. It was so good that I didn’t want to put it down. Ona was such a bright, funny and intriguing character that I was drawn into her story and the way it was told was different but really well done.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read The One in a Million Boy? What did you think of it?

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

