Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer.

Title – Cress
Series – The Lunar Chronicles 3
Author – Marissa Meyer
Pages – 550 pages
Source – I own it
Publication Date – February 4th 2014 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN – 9780312642976
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re planning to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, and she’s  been imprisoned on a satellite since she was a child with only her netscreens for company. But all that screen time made her an excellent hacker and Queen Levana has ordered her to track down Cinder and her accomplices.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes wrong, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom but it came with a price.

Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing stop her from marrying Emperor Kai. Cinder, Scarlet and Cress may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

I decided last year to re-read the first three books in The Lunar Chronicles before I read 16Winter. I needed a little refresher because I read them so fast I forgot things.

I’m glad I re-read this because it let me give Cress (the character, not the book) a second chance. Cress really annoyed me with the way she fantasied about Thorne and built up this epic romance in her heard before she’d even met him. This time I was able to take into account that she’d basically been alone on a satellite for years and who knows what that kind of isolation would do to someone. So even though her fantasies about her and Thorne still kind of annoyed me, Cress grew on me and now I even kind of like her.

I love The Lunar Chronicles so far. Cress had a lot more going on than the previous two books for me. Not that Cinder and Scarlet were boring it’s just that with the team being split up there seemed to be more happening. I liked that there were more characters introduced and that Cinder, who I think is my favourite out of the girls, is if not accepting her role in this, but is determined to overthrow Levana. And not just for the Earthens but for the people of Luna that Levana has controlled for years.

I think this has to be one of my favourite series. I don’t know when I’ll get to read Winter, I’m hoping next month, but I’m looking forward to finding out what happens to Cinder and the others, even Levana. If I had my way she’d have one of those things Cinder had implanted to stop her using her Luna gift and she’d have to suffer being ‘normal’ for the rest of her life. I haven’t read a lot of fairy-tale retellings but these are definitely my favourites.

Have you read The Lunar Chronicles? What did you think if the books? No spoilers please!!

– Aimee.

8 thoughts on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer.

  1. Ara Mae says:

    I love the Lunar Chronicles so much! I actually just finished Stars Above, but I started on Cinder just two weeks ago, I think? I read all the books through the last weeks of the semester but I don’t regret it because I think they’re actually the ones that kept me sane despite the loads of schoolwork I had to do. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, you marathoned the whole series! That’s awesome. I still have Winter and Stars Above to read but now that I’ve re-read the first three books I can finally read them.
      The series is one of my favourites!

      Like

Leave a Reply

