Review: The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson.

Title – The Art of Being Normal
Author – Lisa Williamson
Source – Publisher
Pages – 357 pages
Publication Date – January 7th 2016 by David Fickling Books
ISBN – 9781910200520
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

Two outsiders, both have secrets. David wants to be a girl, Leo wants to be invisible.

One day, Leo stands up for David while he’s being picked on at school and an unlikely friendship forms between them. But things are about to get messy. At Eden Park School secrets don’t stay secret for long.

I received a copy of The Art of Being Normal from Schlastic New Zealand to review. I’ve never read a books that’s been endorsed by Amnesty International UK, or anyone, before.

I first heard of this last year but never saw it in a bookstore when I was shopping. I’m grateful I had the opportunity to review it.

David knows who he is, a girl, but he hasn’t been able to tell his family. This story follows CiDIL5vUgAA0MvHhim as he gets the courage to finally tell them. Leo is starting at a new school and just wants to get through his last year so he can leave and have a better life.

Their friendship brings out the best in both of them and helps them to be the people they truly are. I liked the friendship between David and Leo, even though Leo was reluctant to make any friends, David never gave up on him and they were both better off for meeting each other.

The Art of Being Normal taught me a couple of things. I think the most important one was that David is a girl stuck in a boys body and even though he had a crush on a guy (while he was still a boy) it didn’t make him gay. David is a girl so he’s straight. I’d never actually thought about this before but it makes sense. I’m glad this book opened my eyes. I’ve always supported the LBGT community so the more I understand the more I can support. Or is it LBGTQ now? My bad if I got it wrong.

I think this is another book that people need to read. I’m open-minded and have never judged anyone for being who they are but I’ve never known anyone that’s gone through this. I hope this book opens people’s minds and hearts to those that are going through this and all the stuff (bullying, stress, pain and happiness) that comes with it. I also hope it helps someone who hasn’t had the opportunity to tell their family and friends, for whatever reason, that they aren’t alone and there are people out there that will support and love them, no matter what.

*Thank you Scholastic New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read The Art of Being Normal? What did you think of it?

– Aimee

4 thoughts on “Review: The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson.

  1. Great review! I really want to get this book! I’m also a huge supporter of the LGBTQ community, and I definitely agree more knowledge about it is better 🙂 I haven’t seen it in a store either. I guess I’ll have to get it online!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow great review! I read this book as well and it was really amazing – I feel like it deserves way more popularity and attention! And there aren’t enough books out there which talk about transgenderism, so I’m really glad I read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

