WWW Wednesday [May 18th 2016] –

mercoledì

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading – 23346341
The Immortal Throne is the sequel to The City which I read at the start of the month. If you want to read my review of than you can here.

I’m 200 pages in and it’s definitely easier to read than The City was. But I explained why I struggled with The City in my review so I’m not going to go into it again.

The Immortal Throne picks up during the events in The City but with different characters, from the other side of the coup. I think it was around 170 pages that The Immortal Throne catches up to the end of The City and I’m now reading what happened after the end. If that makes any sense.

This was sent to me to review from Penguin Random House New Zealand.

Recently Finished – SpinningStarlight-678x1024
I was looking for Stitching Snow in the library but they didn’t have it. They did have this so I put a hold on it and am glad I did. I didn’t know anything about it when I put it on hold but I figured if I didn’t read it I could just take it back.

Spinning Starlight is a retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Wild Swans, which I haven’t read but plan on reading it before I write my review.

I liked this, it’s got a sci-fi twist to it and I was pretty much hooked from the start. Liddi, the main character, has to rescue her eight brothers before they’re killed but she’s can’t talk. If she uses her voice, they die. Bit of a horrible twist but it was still really good.

I was sent a copy of Yellow Brick War last month from Hayellow-brick-war-by-danielle-paige-0062280759rperCollins New Zealand to review. I’ve read and reviewed both Dorothy Must Die and The Wicked Will Rise. You can click the links for the reviews.

I wasn’t really expecting much, I found the previous books okay, I liked them but they’re not the best books I’ve ever read.

I like the concept of this series but there is just something about the books, I don’t know if it’s the characters or writing, but I just find them okay. I get sick of some of the characters keeping things from Amy but still expecting her to do things for them.

Anyway, hopefully I’ll get it all figured out by the time I review the books.

18798983

This is another book I got from the library recently. I’ve been seeing this all over bookstagram because the sequel has been released. I was surprised that the library had a copy but was happy that they did.

I loved this book.. Not so much that I could hardly pronounce any of the names. But the story was so good and I loved Sharhzad and Khalid, I think I got their names right but who knows.

The Wrath and the Dawn was kind of like Uprooted by Naomi Novik but so much better. I don’t know why I didn’t like Uprooted, so many people do but I struggled to finish it. Not to mention the names in that were ridiculous and I gave up trying to say them and made my own up.

Anyway, I loved this. I’ve said that but I really did. The library doesn’t have the sequel which I am dying to read so I may have to get an e-book copy of it. I will be reviewing this soon. 23369370

Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between was sent to me to review from Hachette New Zealand. I’ve never read a book by Jennifer E. Smith before but have seen her books on bookstagram a lot.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this but it was surprisingly good. I didn’t go into it expecting much but I liked it.

So if you didn’t know, this is about Clare and Aiden and they go on this scavenger hunt type thing on their last night in town, before they leave for college, as they try to decide if they should stay together or not.

I think I figured out what Clare would decide early on but I liked the ending. I’m not going to give anything away though.

Reading Next – 51jJ7g-J9ML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
Rogue Wave was another book sent to me from Hachette New Zealand to review. I’ve fallen so far behind with my reviews books it’s not even funny.

I read the first book in this series, Deep Blue, earlier this year. You can read my review of that here if you want.

I’m hoping this will pick up where Deep Blue left off but I may need a bit of a refresher before I start Rogue Wave. I don’t think I’ve forgotten much but I just want to make sure. I won’t be reading it again though.

I’d never heard of Deep Blue until I saw the poster on Hachette New Zealand’s instagram account but I am so glad I got the chance to read them. Deep Blue was really addicting and I remember not wanting to put it down. I hope Rogue Wave is just as good.

What have you read recently?

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [May 18th 2016] –

    • Ooh that exciting! I’m really looking forward to reading The Rose and the Dagger. Whenever I get to it.
      Yeah, I couldn’t connect with Uprooted and made myself finish it. I heard it was a Beauty and the Beast retelling which is why I read it but it is just too weird for me.
      Ah, you read Wolf by Wolf! I enjoyed that too. The different take on WW2 and what would happen if Hitler won with a little twist to it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

