Review: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan.

Title – The Hidden Oracle
Series – The Trials of Apollo 1
Author – Rick Riordan
Pages – 374 pages
Source – Publisher
Publication Date – May 3rd 2016 by Puffin, an imprint of Penguin Random House
ISBN – 9780141363936
RRP – $26.00
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Apollo, god of the sun, has been cast down from Olympus as punishment from his father Zeus and lands in a New York dumpster. Apollo talks Percy Jackson into giving him a ride to Camp Half-Blood, where he’ll be safe. But the camp is in chaos. Campers are disappearing and the Oracle of Delphi has fallen into the hands of someone called ‘the Beast.’

To regain Zeus’s favour, Apollo has to complete a series of trials. His first task is to protect the final Oracle, which was hidden for a millennium. If he fails, the Beast will have control over the future and Apollo will be mortal….

I received a copy of The Hidden Oracle from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. I love this world and was so excited to dive back in with Riordan’s new book.

I thought Apollo was hilarious. Obviously he had moments where things were all about CiJLL_AUoAABU9-Apollo but he was a god and people used to worship him so it was kind of expected. It took some time for Apollo to stop putting himself first but again, I expected it. Apollo was vain and egotistic when he appeared in Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus, but weren’t all the other gods too?  I one review after I’d read the book where this person had only read this book and not any of the others by Riordan so obviously they didn’t understand Apollo at all.

I loved the idea of a god being cast down and having to complete trials to get back into his father’s good books. Apollo’s trials seem to have started with his lack of action when he was still a god, so it seems only right that he clean up the mess. There isn’t a lot of action in The Hidden Oracle but Apollo is still trying to figure out what’s going on so I think there will be more in the next books.

There are some old, familiar characters and some new ones. I liked Meg, until I was left a little confused but then I get why she’s confused herself. She’s a funny little things and I’m hoping she’ll have more to do with Apollo in the next book.

It was funny reading Apollo interacting with his children at Camp Half-Blood. He’s now a sixteen-year-old mortal and his kids are around the same age, if not older. I did remember Will Solace from the other books and was glad to see him again. As well as Nico and Percy. I’m not going to spoil things but there was another characters I was very glad to see. They are my second favourite behind Percy. Maybe third behind Annabeth.

If you haven’t read the Heroes of Olympus series then I wouldn’t recommend reading The Hidden Oracle until you have. There are updates about most of the characters in that series, which I was really happy with. I haven’t read The Sword of Summer yet but that didn’t matter, there were no spoilers for that book thankfully. Just a hint to where Annabeth was but I’d already assumed she was somehow connected to Magnus with them sharing a last name.

I’ve loved both Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus series and I am 100% sure that I’m going to love The Trials of Apollo too. Riordan has definitely drawn me into this world and I have no regrets. Riordan is one of my favourite authors and I can’t wait to read the sequel, The Dark Prophecy, when it comes out next year.

*Thank you Penguin Random House for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read The Hidden Oracle? Let me know what you though.

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan.

Leave a Reply

