Review: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

Title – The Winner’s Crime
Author – Marie Rutkoski
Series – The Winner’s Trilogy
Pages – 359 pages
Source – Bought it
Publication Date – July 3rd 2014 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books
ISBN – 9781408858202
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Kestrel is the daughter of a general in an empire that revels in war and enslaves the people it conquers and Kestrel has a choice to make, she can join the military or get married. Kestrel has other ideas.

Kestrel is shocked when she finds a kindred spirit in Arin, a slave up for auction. Following a strange instinct, Kestrel buys him and the price she pays has the society gossips talking. Not long after he joins her household, Kestrel finds herself hiding her growing feelings for him. But Arin is also keeping a secret and Kestrel will find out that the price she paid was much higher that she imagined.

I bought The Winner’s Curse when it was released but have never read it until now. I have CiNhdMSVAAA9NGTno idea why but now that I have the trilogy I’ll be reading them pretty close together. I’d heard this was like Throne of Glass (which I loved) with more romance. I’m glad they got the romance part wrong.

I enjoyed this and was drawn into Kestrel and Arin’s world from the beginning. It was all
beautifully written and I loved that Kestrel and Arin’s “romance” didn’t feel forced and wasn’t in your face. I guess there are some similarities to Throne of Glass but not much and not enough that I kept comparing them. Kestrel and Celaena are so different there there was no point comparing them, or the stories.

The Winner’s Curse is told in both Kestrel and Arin’s perspective. They have both come from very different worlds, Kestrel’s people have enslaved Arin’s. But there is a connection between them and the longer they spend in each other company the stronger it gets. I liked Kestrel and Arin, they both care about their people and are willing to do anything to help them.

But when Arin’s secret comes out it all changes and Kestrel is forced to make a choice. A choice that may change her life forever. I don’t know if she made the right choice but I don’t think there was much of a choice for her to make at the time. I cannot wait to read The Winner’s Crime to see what happens to Kestrel and Arin next.

I loved the little cliffhanger at the end of the book. It’s not how I expected the book to end but I like when a story surprises me. I am glad I have the other two books in the trilogy so I can pick them up soon-ish. I have no idea when I’ll be able to read them but I hope it will be soon.

Have you read The Winner’s Curse? What did you think? (No spoilers for the other two books please.)

– Aimee.

14 thoughts on “Review: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

  1. I keep seeing random good reviews of this when I least expect it the most. I’m happy the whole series is out so I can read it. I have the first book but once I read it and form my own opinion then maybe I’ll get the other two.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I could not bring myself to finish the book. I gave up after a hundred pages. I did not find the subject of slavery was handled properly. Also, I could not find a connection to the characters. Kestrel sounds so annoying and some remarks were simply wrong. I did not see any chemistry between her and Arin. The world building was too superficial so I did not feel transported at all. I guess once in a while, we are bound to find a book disappointing.
    I hope you’ll enjoy the rest of the series 🙂

    Like

    • I didn’t really mind how the subject of slavery was handled as it’s a fictional world and the author can do whatever she wants in her world. It’s not like it’s based on history so I didn’t see a problem with it.
      Kestrel was ignorant in some subjects but she kind of grew through the book. She’s definitely tougher than she first appeared.
      I’m actually glad the romance wasn’t in your face. Kestrel and Arin’s connection grew through the book. There’s definitely something there. But I have no idea what will happen between them.
      But those are just my opinions. I’m sure I will enjoy the other two books 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

