Review: The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

Title – The Wrath & the Dawn
Author – Renee Ahdieh
Series – The Wrath & the Dawn 1
How I Got It – Library
Pages – 404 pages
Publication Date – May 12th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9780399171611
My Rating – ★★★★/5

In a land that’s being ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartbreak to another family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Every night he takes a new bride, only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat by morning. When sixteen-year-old’s Shahrzad’s best friend becomes one of Khalid’s victims she vowsCinMVe2UYAAjxOY to gets justice and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the Caliph’s reign of terror.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, keeping her alive. Although each dawn could be her last. Then something she never expected happens – Khalid is not what she expected him to be and Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. As Shahrzad figures out that not all is as it seems, she sets out to uncover whatever secrets
are hiding in the palace. Despite her love for Khalid, Shahrzad needs to be ready to kill him as retribution for all the lives he’s taken.

I’ve been wanting to read this since it first came out. I only recently found out that the local library had a copy of it. The synopsis reminded me of Uprooted by Naomi Novik, with young women being taken against their will and falling for a monster. But, unlike Uprooted, I loved The Wrath and the Dawn.

Shahrzad has lost her best friend, she was killed by the Caliph like so many other young women. But instead of just being angry and grieving her friend, she uses that anger and pain to come up with a plan of revenge and justice. Shahrzad is a strong, independent young woman and is also funny. She’s scared that she’s going to die but s
he’s unwilling to give up on her plan until it’s obvious that it won’t work. Or, other complications appear.

I liked Khalid, although he was frustrating a lot of the time. And given that he was apparently this monster I don’t know why I was so drawn to him as a character, but I was. He seemed to be more than just the monster everyone outside of the palace thought he was. Khalid was a tortured young Caliph with a lot of secrets but under all of it, he just wanted to be able to save his people.

The character I didn’t like was Shahrzad’s childhood friend Tariq ( I think I’m spelling it right). The way he just assumed Shahrzad would leave the palace with him if he found a way to ‘rescue’ her from the monster, that they would just run away and get married too. He never stopped to think how she may feel about it, or him, or the fact that she’s already married. I hope she shows him where to go in The Rose and the Dagger.

I am dying to read the sequel but the library doesn’t have it so I may have to give in and get an eBook copy of it. I don’t usually read eBooks but I may have to if the library doesn’t get a copy by the time I get my TBR down. I don’t have the time to read it at the moment anyway so it’s not a huge problem yet.

Have you read The Wrath and the Dawn? What did you think of it?

– Aimee.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

    • I have loved the retellings I’ve read so far, even of I’ve never read the original story.
      I did enjoy The Wrath and the Dawn. I can’t wait to read the next one, whenever I get to it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

