Top Ten Tuesday (June 7th): Ten Reasons I Love Reading.

Cf9fcBRUIAEsBZV
This weeks Top Ten Tuesday is to give ten reasons why you love something. I decided to pick reading because I’m lazy and don’t have the time to do something more specific. I was going to do Harry Potter but I talk about that too much. Reading is just easier.

1. Reading lets me enter new worlds.Β I love being able to pick up a book and leave my very mundane life and enter another one. It doesn’t even matter if it’s a made up place like Hogwarts or Narnia, I can get lost reading about places I’ve never been to.

2. I’ve met a lot of great people through our love of books.Β I don’t have a lot of friends that read IRL which is why I made my Bookstagram account and my blog. I can talk all day about books to other book lovers and not annoy anyone.

3. I learn things when I read.Β I read a lot of YA books but that doesn’t mean I don’t learn new things while I read them. When I read The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson it opened my eyes to a few things and I learned something that had never crossed my mind before.

4. I’m never bored when I have a book with me.Β I take a book everywhere with me. Well, not the bathroom. But when I go out I always take a book with me, even if I know I’ll have no time to read I still take one. I hate being bored and having nothing to do but with a book it’s always exciting to see what the characters I’m reading about will do next.

5. Trying to guess what will happen next.Β When I read thrillers and mysteries I like to try to figure things out before it’s all revealed. But I also love reading books where I have no clue what’s going on and the author is able to surprise me. It doesn’t happen a lot but I love it when it does.

6. Curling up with a book, warm blanket and a cup of tea/coffee.Β I think this is one of my favourite things to do. Especially in winter when it’s raining outside. A blanket doesn’t make much sense in summer though.

7. I love the smell of new books.Β A weird reason to love reading but I do love to smell new books.

8. Book mail!Β Book mail is the best kind of mail. I love getting books in the mail that I’ve forgotten I’ve ordered. Hasn’t happened for a while because I’m on a book buying ban but still.

9. Reading is a great way for me to relax.Β Sitting down after a long day with my current read always helps me relax. I try to read every day, even if I’m exhausted.

10.Β DiscoveringΒ new worlds and genres.Β I’ve been reading a lot of different genres to what I read normally. Which has opened me up to more books, authors and worlds. I always like to pick up a book I don’t think I’ll like and be surprised by how much I do.

So, those are some of the reasons why I love to read. Why do you love reading?

– Aimee.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (June 7th): Ten Reasons I Love Reading.

  1. Great Post! Also love your bookshelves, I need to get some pop funko’s into my life! Especially Harry Potter ones. My own reasons would be the same especially being able to be transported into different world and meeting/interacting with new people πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! All of these are so true. Especially book mail. Oh what I would give for some book mail right now.. alas, book buying ban. There can never be too many posts about Harry Potter though. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

