Review: Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige.

Title – Yellow Brick War
Author – Danielle Paige
Series – Dorothy Must Die Series #3
How I Got It – Publisher
Pages – 288 pages
Publication Date –  March 15th 2016 by HarperCollins
ISBN – 9780062458421
My Rating – ★★★/5

Years ago, Dorothy was taken to Oz in a tornado and while she was there, she was tempted by magic. Dorothy let the magic change her and she’s no longer the good farm girl from Kansas, Dorothy is evil. Now Oz is dark and twisted.

Amy was also taken from Kansas in a tornado to Oz, where Wicked is Good and Good is Wicked. The Wicked Witches gave Amy a mission, kill Dorothy. The only way to stop Dorothy from destroying both Oz and Kansas is to kill her, and Amy is the only one that can. But she failed, and people died.

Now, the portal between Oz and Kansas is open and if Amy can’t find a way to close it she may not be able to go home. Amy has to join the Witches, kill Dorothy and stop a war.

I received a copy of Yellow Brick War from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. I read the first two books in the series last year and liked them. Although I’ve never read the originalCi2oMHpUkAA57_L stories. This is the third book in the Dorothy Must Die series.

I think this picked up where the Wicked Will Rise ended. Amy is back in Kansas and needs
to find a way back to Oz so she can finally stop Dorothy for good. But obviously it’s not going to be as simple as it sounds for Amy. The Witches have been keeping things from her and never tell her the whole story. Amy has found some new allies in Kansas, people she never thought she’d ever be willing to trust.

I probably should have re-read the first two books in the series before starting Yellow Brick War but I thought I’d be able to pick it all up again as I read. Some things came back but there are some things that, even now, I can’t remember. That didn’t stop me from enjoying this though. I will probably read them all before the next book is released.

Yellow Brick War seemed shorter than the other two books to me. But maybe I just read it faster.. I’m not sure. These books are a little cheesy in places but I can get past that. It’s not an annoying kind of cheesy. They’re also kind of predictable too but I like to know if I’ve figured things out before it’s revealed in the story. It never ruins the story if I figure some things out early in the book. But I do like when books can surprise me.

I like these books, even though I can predict a lot of the things that happens. I’m looking forward to seeing how Amy’s story ends and what happens to Oz next.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read the Dorothy Must Die series? What did you think of the first three books?

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige.

Leave a Reply

