Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

Title – The 5th Wave
Author – Rick Yancey
Series – The 5th Wave #1
How I Got It – Book sale
Pages – 460 pages
Publication Date – May 7th 2013 by Penguin Books
ISBN – 9780141345833
My Rating – ★★★★/5

After the first wave, only darkness remained. After the second, the lucky ones are still alive. After the third, the unlucky survive. After the fourth wave, there’s only one rule – trust no one. Now it’s the beginning of the fifth wave.

I’ve had The 5th Wave sitting on my shelf for over a year now. When Penguin Random House sent me a copy of The Last Star it gave me a good excuse to finally pick it up and get a copy of The Infinite Sea.

I didn’t know a lot about this when I started it, which is surprising considering how ClbYjmXVEAAQGIfpopular it is and the movie came out this year too. I’ve managed to stay spoiler free and plan on staying that way too. I figured it had something to do with aliens but that was all I knew.

These aliens reminded me a little of the aliens or the other being, whatever they were called, in The Host by Stephenie Meyer at the start. But the more I read and getting a
description, as vague as it was, I stopped comparing them. They are kind of similar but still different.

I liked Cassie. She’d been thought a lot, more than enough to want to check out, but she wants to find her brother and to keep her promise to him. She’s ready to do whatever it takes to find him. Then Cassie meets Evan Walker and she’s strangely drawn to him even though she’s not 100% sure she trusts him. I wasn’t sure what was going on with Evan but I was sure she shouldn’t trust him and that I knew who he was.

Then there’s Ben and Sam. I don’t really want to talk about what is happening with them because it’ll give too much away for those that haven’t read The 5th Wave yet. If there are people who haven’t read it. I feel like I’m the last one to read it sometimes.

The fifth wave of the invasion is scary disturbing but at the same time incredibly smart too. Like, scary smart. At one point I wasn’t sure what was going on and who to trust but I decided to trust what Cassie saw, even though it didn’t really make sense with what was happening to Ben/Zombie (I have a hard time calling him Zombie) and Sam. Which is why it’s such a good plan, no one would believe it was even possible.

I am definitely looking forward to reading The Infinite Sea soon. I really want to know what’s next for Cassie, Ben and Sam.

If you’ve read The 5th Wave let me know what you thought in the comments. No spoilers for the next two books please!!

– Aimee.

11 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

  1. bymarlida says:

    I feel about the same way as you do about this book! The movie is not a bad adaption either (although I pictured Evan Walker soooo different, but I got used to it). The second book is on my summer tbr read and I’m so excited 😮😮
    (-Ida)

    Like

Leave a Reply

