Top Ten Tuesday (July 5th):Top Ten Books I’ve Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. You can check out the weeks theme here. I didn’t even know you could check this on Goodreads and I’m looking forward to this one. I’ve decided to share them in the order they come up on my shelves. You can click the title of each book for links to Goodreads.

1. The Reaction by Helena Coggan. IMG_20160305_112032
This is the sequel to The Catalyst and both books are soooo good. I gave The Reaction five stars on Goodreads when I read it earlier this year.

I was surprised to see this book only had 25 ratings on Goodreads. Why aren’t people reading this?!?!?!

I can’t wait for the third book to come out next year. It did take me a while to get used to Helena’s writing style but once I did I was hooked on both books and couldn’t put them down. I think they both definitely need more recognition. IMG_20160402_142059

2. The Immortal Throne by Stella Gemmell. 
This is another sequel. I haven’t come across the first book yet (with this ratings thing on Goodreads).

Both The City and The Immortal Throne are big books but I think they’re worth giving a try. I’d never heard of either of them until Penguin Random House NZ sent me a copy of The Immortal Throne to review. The City to me a few days to get into but once I did I really enjoyed it and I loved this one because I kind of knew what to expect with the writing style.

I don’t know if they’ll be a third book in the series but there were a few stories left open at the end of this one so I’m hoping there’ll be a third one. IMG_20160406_104225

3. Beloved Poison by E.S. Thomson. 
I didn’t know if I’d like this when I received a copy of it to review earlier this year but the synopsis sounded really interesting and I wanted to give it a go.

Not only is the cover gorgeous but the book was really good too. I really enjoyed this. I’ve seen on Goodreads that there might be a sequel to this. It says that this is book one in the Jem Flockheart series but the ending was wrapped up for me and I don’t see the need for another book. I don’t know if I’ll read it if there is one, the synopsis would have to be really good and not just a repeat of this.

Anyway, this is like a historical fiction/mystery. It was interesting to read about how surgery was performed back then but kind of had me wondering how anyone lived through it. CZNHzZRWkAA3h5G

4. Who’s Afraid? by Maria Lewis. 
I think this was Maria’s debut novel but I can’t really remember. This is set in Scotland and (for a few chapters) New Zealand. I loved being able to actually picture the places Tommi went to in NZ because I’d been there myself. I don’t read a lot of books set in NZ or by NZ authors (I think Maria is Australian) so I was glad to find this.

There’s a sequel to Who’s Afraid coming out next year and I am looking forward to reading it. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Tommi and her friends. IMG_20160223_131236

5. Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy. 
I really enjoyed Moth Girls when I read it earlier this year. It’s told in past and present POV. I haven’t seen a lot of people reading this but I thought it was a great YA thriller type book. I think it’s a thriller… I could be wrong.

Anyway, it’s about two girls who go missing when they’re nine or ten? I can’t remember how old they were. One of their friends was left behind and has blamed herself ever since. It’s another anniversary of their disappearance and  about time someone found out what happened to them. CftqNsEUsAE5I9x

6. Book of Lies by Teri Terry. 
This is the fourth book by Teri that I’ve read. I have enjoyed all her books and am looking forward to her new trilogy!

Anyway, this one is about twins that were separated at birth and are witches. I think they’re witches… They have some kind of magic anyway. I did wish the ending was a little longer but I made up my own mind on what happened after the end of the book.

I enjoyed Book of Lies. There’s an “evil” twin in this book and I was sure I’d picked the twin that was evil within a few chapters.

7. The Father: Made in Sweden Part 1 by Anton Svensson.IMG_20150728_152723
I have to say the cover of this caught my attention first but the synopsis sounded just as good.

The Father is inspired by a the true story of a father/son bank robbing team in Sweden. I’d never heard of them before this book but if what they did was in this book they were pretty smart. Crazy, but smart. While I was reading it I’d forget that it was based on real events and then it’d hit me and I’d be like “really?!” I could see it being a movie, not actual events that happened.

I don’t know if there’s a Part 2 to this or not. I think the ending was pretty wrapped up but who knows. CgCZfjfVAAEQbcw

8. The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub.
The Yearbook Committee is set in Australia and (I think) by an Australian author.

I’d been told it was like The Breakfast Club which I didn’t like but I decided to give it a try anyway and am so glad that I did. I really enjoyed this.

It’s about six (again, I think) teens as they’re forced to work with each other on the yearbook committee. They’re all really different and from different ‘cliques’ but as they get to know each other they start to become friends. I think it was a bit cheesy in places and sometimes predictable but I didn’t see the ending coming. It was a good book. IMG_20150926_125625

9. Stray by Rachael Craw. 
I think both Spark and Stray are underrated which is why I have a photo of both of them. Spark is the first book in the trilogy. The last book, Shield, will be released later this year and I cannot wait to read it.

Rachael is a New Zealand author. I said earlier I don’t read many NZ authors but I am so glad I was able to review both these books for Walker Books Australia. I’d never heard of them until I was offered a copy of Spark but when I was reading it I was hooked. I don’t think I’ve read anything like this before. Please, find a copy of Spark if you haven’t read it and give it a go. CaAA696UUAAGHLE

10. My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier. 
And lastly I’m going to share My Sister Rosa. I have seen mixed reviews of this but I loved it. It was scary how real this could actually be because there are people out in the world like Rosa.

I couldn’t put this down when I read it. I guess it was like watching a car crash, you don’t want to watch but you can’t look away. Rosa was so disturbing and scarily realistic but I just couldn’t put it down.

So there are ten books that don’t have a lot of reviews on Goodreads that I’ve either loved or really enjoyed. I think this was a great theme this week.

Have you read any of these?

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (July 5th):Top Ten Books I’ve Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads.

  1. neverfearlynnishere says:

    Book of Lies sounds really cool. I think witches are the only type of paranormal book I actually enjoy. This is the second time I’ve seen Moth Girls pop up and I have to say, I’m gonna need to see if it’s in my library because now I’m interested in reading it. My Sister Rosa sounds like my kinda book. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

