Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass.

Title – The Heir
Author – Kiera Cass
Series – The Selection Series #4
How I Got It – Bought it.
Pages – 342 pages
Publication Date – May 5th 2015 by HarperTeen
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Princess Eadlyn grew up hearing the story of how her parents met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect to find the kind of love her parents have and has no intention of repeating their fairy tale. But a princess’s life isn’t always her own and Eadlyn can’t escape having her own Selection and the one entry who may capture her heart..

I’ve had The Heir sitting on my bookcase for over a year. I figured that now I have a copy of The Crown it was about time to read it.

I’ve heard some mixed things about Eadlyn. I did find her annoying at times, especially with how she thought she couldn’t be a strong, independent queen and be married at the Clqypy2VYAAXAiasame time. Eadlyn was raised knowing she was the heir to the throne and with that comes the expectation that she’ll carry on the royal line. Unless she wanted it to go to her
brother’s children. And no, that’s not a spoiler – there are no children. The fact that Eadlyn would have to marry doesn’t mean she would lose herself. I mean, I don’t plan on getting married but it’s not like it’s a prison sentence.

I think Eadlyn learned a lot about herself in The Heir. Like the way she comes across to the public and what they think of her. She’s loyal to her family but very quick to judge others before getting to know them. I think that’s how she managed to push Ahren into doing what he did.

I loved seeing America and Maxon and parents and getting a glimpse into their lives. It was weird reading about America and not from her perspective but I got used to it. And I loved Osten.

I’m hoping that Eadlyn will find someone in the Selection that she can trust to be part of her life. I’ve picked out a guy I think she should choose but I can see a connection between her and someone else. There are some good guys in this Selection. But even if Eadlyn doesn’t pick someone I hope she’ll be able to find a way for her people to love her, because they don’t seem to at the moment.

I can’t wait to read The Crown to find out how the Selection ends and but also what will happen to America. The Heir ended on a little cliffhanger so I’m glad I didn’t read it last year.

Have you read The Selection Series? Let me know what you thought of the books in the comments. But no spoilers for The Crown please 🙂

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass.

Leave a Reply

