Review: Tripping Back Blue by Kara Storti.

Title – Tripping Back Blue
Author – Kara Storti
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 368 pages
Publication Date – April 1st 2016 by Carolrhoda Lab
ISBN – 9781512403084
My Rating – ★★★.5/5

Finn is a seventeen year old drug dealer. He’s dealing to get money so his sister, Faith, can go to Harvard. Finn is also an addict, but can’t see it. The only time he feels at peace is when he’s bird-watching.

When Finn’s plan to get his sister out of Dammertown falls apart, his life begins to go out of control. Then he forms an unlikely friendship with an old women who might be the answer to his problems. She can give him access to an amazing drug Finn calls indigo. When people take a hit of indigo they experience their best memories with so much intensity that they return to the present with a memento from the past.

Finn is convinced that indigo is his way out of everything broken in his life. But is it really as good as it seems?

I received a copy of Tripping Back Blue from Walker Books Australia to review.

I don’t normally read about drug dealers or people doing drugs because I hate them. The CmK2psDWMAE829Hdrugs not the characters. Drugs don’t just get people addicted but they also have the potential to ruin families and take so many lives. But this review is not meant to be me going on about the evil of drug use. Moving on.

I had a hard time connecting with the protagonist/main character, Finn, and not just because of the drugs. It was his attitude, the way he thought he was so great and that all the girls wanted him. The way he treated his ‘friends’ too was annoying. I’m surprised he had any left. Finn was arrogant and always thought he was right. I get that he wanted a better life for his sister and wanted to help pay for her to go to Harvard but I think he was going about it the wrong way and never listened to what Faith actually wanted. Finn thought he knew what was best for her despite what she wanted. Finn was doing it all because of the guilt he felt for what happened to Faith when she was a kid.

Even though I didn’t really like Finn, he was way too cocky and sure of himself for me, I did enjoy the story. Normally when I can’t connect with the main character I have a hard time with the rest of the book but I didn’t this time. There were some characters in the book that I did like. No one in Tripping Back Blue was perfect, they all had their flaws.

I’m glad I decided to give this book a chance instead of judging it because it was about drugs.

*Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Tripping Back Blue? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

