Review: See How They Run by Ally Carter.

Title – See How They Run
Author – Ally Carter
Series – Embassy Row #2
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 320 pages
Publication Date – February 1st 2016 by Scholastic Australia
ISBN – 9781760153571
My Rating – ★★★★/5

For the last three years Grace was desperate to uncover the truth about her mother’s death. She thought if she did that she’d find peace, she thought she’d find answers and be able to put the past behind her.

But getting the truth has made her a target.

On Embassy Row, power can make you the victor or the victim, love can turn you into a fool and family can either lead you forward or bury you. Trust is a luxury and death is a very real threat.

I received See How They Run from Scholastic New Zealand to review. I read the first book, All Fall Down earlier this year. You can read my review here.

I liked the All Fall Down, even though some things annoyed me. I think because I was expecting those things to be in this book that they didn’t annoy me as much as the first CmU1FRvUMAAyAmZbook and I was able to just enjoy the book. I did think the big twist I was warned about was predictable, I saw it coming earlier in the book but that didn’t stop me from liking See How They Run. I think this got me out of a horrible reading slump.

I think Grace is still in shock about what happened at the end of All Fall Down, and the fact that some people aren’t exactly talking about it is confusing her a little. She’s still questioning if what she sees actually happens. Now her brother has come for a ‘break’ from his army training and has a friend with him. Grace feels a distance between her and Jamie because of all the secrets she’s keeping from him.

When an American citizen turns up dead and one of the few people Grace cares about is accused of murder, her world is flipped upside down again. As more secrets are revealed it’s not just Grace that’s in danger this time. I have no idea where the next book will be going or what secrets will come out next. I mean, I have my suspicions but I don’t want to think too much about it and the secrets that came out in See How They Run because I don’t want to be let down if it doesn’t happen.

I don’t remember figured out the twist at the end of All Fall Down but like I said earlier in this review I did see it coming in See How They Run. I think there were a few clues earlier in the book, one with the random song Grace kept singing. But I thought the second twist was me putting two and two together and getting five. But my crazy guess turned out to be right.

I’m really looking forward to the next book in the series, Take the Key and Lock Her Up, when it comes out later this year.

*Thank you Scholastic New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read either book in the Embassy Row Series? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

