Review: The Crown by Kiera Cass.

Title – The Crown
Series – The Selection Series #5
Author – Kiera Cass
How I Got It – From the publiser
Pages – 279 pages
Publication Date – May 3rd 2016 by HarperCollins
ISBN – 9780007580248
My Rating – ★★★★/5

When Eadlyn started her own Selection, the first princess in Illea ever to hold one, she wasn’t expecting for actually fall for any of the 35 suitors. Recent events at the palace have pushed her even further into the spotlight and Eadlyn realises she might not be happy standing there alone.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect find the fairy-tale ending that her parents have. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you.

I received a copy of The Crown from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. This is the last book in The Selection Series.

I have loved every book in The Selection Series so far and The Crown didn’t let me down. I loved it just as much as the others. I think I’ve said this a few times now but I’m just going to repeat myself. When I first picked up The Selection (three years ago I think) I wasn’t sure if I’d like it. I’d heard it was going to be a TV show and I wanted to read the book first so I just bought the first two books (the only ones out at the time) and I couldn’t put them down. It reminded me of The Bachelor with a twist and I was hooked from the start. This series has been so addictive.

I reviewed The Heir recently, you can read that here, which I’d heard mixed reviews on. Especially about Eadlyn but I liked her. Not as much as America and she did annoy me a Co49Ky2VMAAG-lblittle at the start of The Heir but she did grow on me through the book and she really stepped up in The Crown. Eadlyn is the first woman in inherit the throne and that has put a lot of pressure on her as she’s grown up. She’s had to deal with the people of Illea doubting her ability to lead but instead of letting what people think of her get under her skin it makes her want to prove them wrong, that she is a capable leader and does have what it takes. And I think she definitely proved that in The Crown.

I was really interested to find out how Eadlyn’s Selection ended. I’m not going to give anything away but I will say there were two guys that I could see her with and she ended up choosing one of them. I think she did the right thing with the other guy too and I also think she made the right decision.

I loved seeing that America and Maxon’s relationship hadn’t changed at all from the first three books. And I loved to see them with their children. Because The Heir and The Crown were from Eadlyn’s perspective there wasn’t as much shown with Ahren, Kaden, Osten and their parents but there were some good scenes where it was obvious that America and Maxon were great parents. I loved Osten!

I loved the ending of The Crown, everything was wrapped up nicely and Eadlyn had the last word with one very annoying person. I loved it.

I’m so glad that I gave The Selection a chance instead of dismissing it because it reminded me of The Bachelor, which I’m not a fan of. This is one of my favourite series ever and if you haven’t already read it I highly recommend you give it a chance.

This review was all over the place today, I’m really sorry.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Leave me a comment if you’ve read The Selection Series and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

