Review: On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

Title – On the Other Side
Author – Carrie Hope Fletcher
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 345 pages
Publication Date – July 14th 2016 by Little Brown and Company
ISBN – 9780751563146
My Rating – ★★★/5

Evie Snow has died. When she reaches the door to her personal heaven, Evie finds herself locked out.

Evie’s soul needs to be light enough to pass through the door so she will need to get rid of whatever it is that’s weighing her down. This means Evie will finally have to let go of the secrets she’s been keeping for over thirty years. As she begins her journey Evie learns more about life and love than she thought possible and she may even find a way back to her long lost love along the way.

I received a copy of On the Other Side from Hachette New Zealand to review. I’m going to admit that I had no idea who Carrie was when I requested this book, I just thought it might be something I’d like.

I went into this thinking it would be a typical story about someone that had left things unresolved in their lives and couldn’t move on. Sort of like Ghost Whisperer without CpX8aOUUAAEeC6pMelinda. But things were a little strange… Not in a bad way though. It was like there was a magical/fairy-tale (I can’t explain without giving spoilers but one part with Evie calling a bird to her reminded me a little of Snow White and her animals) element to the story and I kept forgetting that weird things had happened and then something else ‘magical’ (I have no other word for it) would happen and it would always take me by surprise. It did take me a while to get used to because I kept forgetting but once I accepted it I enjoyed the story.

I really liked Evie and the fact she didn’t want to do what her family expected of her, especially her awful mother. She was a piece of work. Evie’s mother expected her kids to fall in line with what she expected them to do, like marry someone they didn’t love, and not ruin the family name. Evie’s father wasn’t involved in his kids lives, I think he only has them to keep up appearances and pass on the family name/business. Both Evie’s parents (I can’t remember their names) were awful people. I don’t even know how they produced two people like Evie and her brother.

There was only one thing I had a problem with and it was a decision Evie made. I do understand the reasons behind it but I don’t think it was fair to Jim, or the other guy (another name that’s slipped my mind). I know Jim was willing to help her in that way and he was really accepting that she’d never feel the same way about him that he felt about her but I could never do that. Maybe I’m just a selfish person.

Despite that I enjoyed On the Other Side and really liked how the story was told, how Evie’s secrets weren’t told like a confession but as another part of the story that were told through flashbacks but still linked into what was happening with Evie and her family. I did find the ending a little weird, the part with the tree… That’s all I’m going to say because spoilers but overall I did like it. I think you’d call this magical realism, which I don’t think I’ve read much of.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

    • I didn’t know if I’d like it either and the magical realism took me by surprise but I did like the story.
      And the cover is 😍 I have an ARC so I don’t have the purple foil that the UK edition had but I actually prefer my cover.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

