Review: The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight.

Title – The Outliers
Series – The Outliers #1
Author – Kimberly McCreight
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 468 pages
Publication Date – May 3rd 2016 by HarperCollins Australia
ISBN – 9780008115067
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“Imagine if you could see inside the minds of everyone around you – your best friend, your boyfriend, your enemies.
Imagine how valuable you’d be…
Imagine how much danger you’d be in…
Imagine being an Outlier…”

Wylie hasn’t talked to her best friend, Cassie, since their fight. But none of that matters when Cassie texts her for help. As Cassie’s messages become more and more strange, Wylie starts getting a feeling that something is very wrong. What is Cassie hiding? And will finding her only be the beginning?

I received a copy of The Outliers from HarperCollins New Zealand in exchange for an honest review.

This book was not what I was expecting at all. I hate going into books with expectations because when I do the books hardly ever lives up to them but this didn’t do that. I think it was because I went into The Outliers expecting one thing and got something completely different, but in a good way. I can’t explain what I thought this would be about without sounding like a complete idiot so I’m not even going to try.

I figured out pretty early in the book that there was something more going on with Wylie other than what she was already going through. But figuring out that early in the book CpjGnt4UMAApTUodidn’t ruin the actual reveal because there was still so much going on and there were other things I didn’t see coming which I thought were great twists to the story.

I liked Wylie and really felt for her while I was reading the book. She hadn’t had a great time recently but Cassie going missing and asking her for help pushed her out of her comfort zone and in the end made her a stronger person. Wylie had to team up with Cassie’s boyfriend, who she doesn’t like and has judged him on rumors around school. But as she gets to know him she realises she may have judged him too easily and Cassie may have been right about him. It’s annoying me that I can’t think of his name..

I really enjoyed this book and I liked the idea of the Outliers with all the good and bad that could come from being one. Like the crazy/murderous group and the government that apparently wants to use them… Or do they? I’m not even sure what was a lie and what was real anymore because that ending! I was so frustrated with the ending, not that it was bad but because I wanted the next book right now. I cannot wait until the next book comes out.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

If you’ve read The Outliers leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

