August Book Haul.

kldnsfkn

I know it’s meant to be Top Ten Tuesday today but when I saw that today’s theme or whatever was about 10 favourite TV shows I knew I’d be here all day trying to narrow it down. So I might try to figure it out over night and share it tomorrow. It’s still Tuesday somewhere in the world tomorrow..

Anyway I thought that I’d share my August book haul instead. I got 15 books last month. I bought five (so much for my book buying ban), one was from a friend and the rest I received from publishers to review.ย 1

The first book I got in August was Harry Potter and the Cursed Child from a friend of mine. I got a surprise owl mail the day after it was released, totally unexpected, with the coffee and chocolate.

I dropped my current read and read The Cursed Child that day because it’s Harry Potter. It came first. I haven’t reviewed it yet because I wanted to give people a chance to read it but I will say here that I really enjoyed it. This is the first time I’ve ever read a play and it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting. I think going into it know it wasn’t going to be like the first seven books was important because this is a play, not a novel. I’ll be reviewing The Cursed Child this soon.

The second book was a pre-order that I got from Book Depository. I was not expecting this 2to be over 600 pages but I’m excited to have the complete trilogy now. I’ve read The Kiss of Deception but I wanted to wait until I had The Beauty of Darkness in case there was a cliffhanger in The Heart of Betrayal.

I have no idea when I’ll be getting to the last two books in this trilogy because I have so much to read but I’ve decided to give myself a chance to read my own books as well as the review books. I think that may be why I get into so many slumps. There are books on my shelves that I am dying to read but I haven’t gotten around to them. I hope it will help because nothing else has yet. I’ve just been forcing myself to read books. Any tips for getting out of a reading slump would be great!3

I received a copy of The Sword of Summer from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. I was really excited to receive this because I’ve loved bothย Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series. Oh, and I really enjoyed The Hidden Oracle when I read it earlier this year.

I have reviewed The Sword of Summer and you can read it here if you want. I won’t go into it here because it’s all in my review but I will say that I enjoyed it and I cannot wait to read The Hammer of Thor when it comes out later this year. I think it comes out in October but I could be wrong.

Hachette New Zealand sent me an ARC of Revenger. Apparently fans of Star Wars and 4Firefly will like this (hence the Funkos, which aren’t mine). I’ve never really gotten into Star Wars and I’ve never seen Firefly so they weren’t the reason I wanted to read this book. I’ve been getting into sci-fi books a bit more lately and this caught my attention.

I can’t remember when this is coming out, I think it’s this month but I could be wrong. I’m not very good with remembering release dates. And on top of that I can’t really remember what it’s about other than it being set in space. I’m really that good. But this happens every month so it really shouldn’t be a surprise if you read my book hauls. I don’t know when I’ll get to this but I’m hoping soon.ย 5

I received a copy of The Bronze Key from Penguin Random House NZ to review. I have read the first two books in this series and have been trying to remember how the last book ended without success… I don’t have time to re-read it so I’m just going to hope that this one will have some kind of refresher at the start.

Anyway, The Bronze Key is the third book in the Magisterium series. It follows Cal, Aaron and Tamara as they learn magic at the Magisterium and all the trouble that kids come across while learning magic.. Like some evil guy trying to kill people. I heard this was like Harry Potter which is why I read the first one and there are definite similarities but Harry will always be the best. I have reviewed both The Iron Trial and The Copper Gauntlet. ย You can click the links if you want to read them.6

Walker Books Australia sent me Shield by Rachael Craw. This is the last book in the Spark trilogy. I have read and reviewed both Spark and Stray. You can click the links if you want to check them out.

I have read Shield and I loved it. I wasn’t ready for this trilogy to end but I really enjoyed the book. I’ll be reviewing it soon. It came out five days ago so I wanted to give people a chance to read it before I posted my review.

If you haven’t read Spark you should definitely find a copy because I couldn’t put it down when I read it last year. And it’s being made into a movie.

Hachette New Zealand also sent me a copy of Court of Fives to review. Again, I can’t 7remember what this is about. I know, I suck. I think this is the first book in a series but I’m not really sure. The second book is on the back of the book, which confused me, but NZ always gets books later than the rest of the world so it shouldn’t really surprise me.

I plan to read it soon so hopefully I’ll be able to tell you what it’s about. I know I could just look it up on Goodreads but I really don’t have time for that today. Which is why I’m rushing through this. I wanted to do this throughout the month as I got books so I could talk about what they were about when I’d read the synopsis but it slipped my mind. I will do it in September though so I don’t look like a complete moron again.ย 8

HarperCollins New Zealand sent me a copy of Amy Schumer’s book to review. I have only read the synopsis and the letter at the start of the book but both of them made me laugh out loud so I am hoping that the rest of the book will too.

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo is on my September TBR so I will definitely be reading it this month. I have heard really good things about this so far and I am looking forward to reading it. Has anyone read this yet?

I received Run from Hachette New Zealand. I haven’t read any of Kody’s other books but 9I’ve heard good things about them. I wanted to read The DUFF before I saw the movie but I haven’t gotten around to either of them. I’m not sure the movie is my kind of thing and I think that goes with the books so… I’m not sure if I’ll read it.

Run, I think, follows two teenage girls as they go on the run but I can’t remember what they’re running from. I do know one of them in blind and her parents don’t like her friend. I guess I’ll see what happens when I read it. Whenever that will be I’m not too sure. It’s not a big book so I don’t think it will take me long to read but with this weird slump I’m in who knows.ย 10

So, I broke my book buying ban to buy the first four books in the Throne of Glass series in the US hardback editions. I did have the UK editions but I don’t like how the lettering on the cover rubs off really easily so I’m going to unhaul them.

I was re-reading the series so I’d finally have Queen of Shadows read by the time Empire of Storms was released but that didn’t really work out because I didn’t want to ruin the rest of my books like Throne of Glass had been. Now that I have these (and have pre-ordered Empire of Storms) I can pick up where I left of (Crown of Midnight) and finish my re-read of the series. It’s kind of embarrassing that I’ve had a copy of Queen of Shadows since it was released last year but I’ve never read it.

The last books I got in August were from Penguin Random House New Zealand. I am really 11looking forward to both of these. United as One is the last book in the I Am Number Four series. Is that what it’s called? And Fleur Ferris is an Australian author that I’ve been hearing really good things about. Black is her second novel. I haven’t read Risk, which was her first. I’m pretty sure.

So, that’s my August book haul. I wanted to thank my friend Kelly for sending me The Cursed Child and all the publishers for the review copies. I also wanted to apologiseย to anyone that’s actually read to the end about the lack of information on some of the books. Well most of them. I will try to do better next month.

What books did you get in August?

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “August Book Haul.

  1. Quite a busy August! I received a few ARCs despite my promise to stop getting them to focus on my actual TBR, but I behaved and bought less books than in June and July, so it’s not all bad ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

