Review: Breathing Under Water by Sophie Hardcastle.

Title – Breathing Under Water
Author – Sophie Hardcastle
How I Got It – From the pubisher
Pages – 310 pages
Publication Date – July 12th 2016 by Hatchette Australia
ISBN – 9780733634857
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Grace and Ben Walker are twins. They’ve grown up next to the ocean so it was inevitable that it would be a huge part of their lives.

Now seventeen, Ben is a rising surf star, the golden son and the guy everyone wants to be with.  At his side, Grace feels like his shadow. In their last year of high school, the world seems full of possibilities. Then, out of nowhere, the unthinkable happens, all that was safe is lost and everything unravels.

I received a copy of Breathing Under Water from Hachette New Zealand in exchange for an honest review.

When I read the publicity release of this book it said that fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell would love this book. That’s not the only reason I requested it because I’ve only really liked The Fault in Our Stars and two of Rainbow Rowell’s books. I haven’t read all of their books though. But it did give me an idea if I’d like this book and I did.

Grace’s world is torn apart when something horrible happens to her family. But she isn’t cs6ek70vyau0hmsthe only one that starts to unravel. There’s not a lot that Grace cares about for a while until one day she realises this isn’t the life she wants.

I liked Grace. She did kind of annoy me when she started drinking and doing drugs but I
can kind of understand what she was going through and I could definitely see why Grace was ‘acting out.’ That sounds so clichéd but I don’t really have any other words for it. She was obviously hurting and this is the way she chose to take her mind off everything and everyone. Grief affects us all differently and I don’t think I can judge her decisions, I’ve never been through anything like that.

Breathing Under Water is set in Australia and written by an Australian author. I haven’t read a lot of books set in Australia even though I’ve lived there twice. I’m not a very beachy person but this book had me wanting to go to a beach. Unfortunately the weather is really crap here and the beaches I was picturing from the book are not the same as my local beach, it has black sand…

I can’t say that I liked the journey that Grace went on in this book because it was a horrible thing to go through but I did like that Grace came out the other side of it a stronger person. It’s an emotional read full of grief, familial dispair and what happens to those left behind. I really enjoyed Breathing Under Water and I would definitely recommend it to fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: Breathing Under Water by Sophie Hardcastle.

Leave a Reply

