Swarm by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti.

Title – Swarm
Series – Zeroes #2
Author – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti.
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 388 pages
Publication Date – October 1st 2016 by Allen & Unwin
ISBN – 9781925267242
RRP – $22.99 NZD
My Rating – ★★★/5

It’s the holiday season, but the happy atmosphere at the Zeroes’ underground nightclub is blown apart when two strangers with powers of their own take over the dance floor. The Zeroes go after them, only to find that they’re running from someone more powerful and evil than them. Someone they call Swarm. The Zeroes need to learn all they can about this dangerous person if they’re going to stay alive.

But each Zero has their own problem to deal with. Bellweather’s confidence slips and Crash’s conscience gets another workout. Anon and Scam are both faced with harsh truths about belonging. While Mob is confronted with the dark side of her power. It’s up to Flicker to lead the Zeroes into a terrifying showdown.

I received a copy of Swarm from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. I read and reviewed the first book, Zeroes, last year. You can read that here.

I mentioned in my review of Zeroes that I’d be interested to know how involved each author is in writing these books. I think I read that a year ago and I still haven’t looked 6into it. Hopefully I’ll know by the time the next book comes out.

I felt like Swarm had a bigger threat for the Zeroes than the first book had. I remember them having to deal with bank robbers, drug dealers and the threat of a couple of them being blown up.. Okay, so that last one was kind of a big deal but this guy, Swarm, was a psychopath. But his power confused me a little and I’m not going to explain it or why it confused me because it would just spoil it. But I’m not really sure I want it explained.. I think it might make Swarm creepier than he already is.

I liked the ending of Swarm better than Zeroes too. It has a little cliffhanger that involves one of the characters I like so I really want to read the next book to find out what happens to them. I also want to know what’s next for the Zeroes too but the ending, with that one character, kind of shocked me. I really wasn’t expecting that.

I still have my problems with Bellweather/Nate wanting control of all the Zeroes. But I do think he had some good character development at the end of the book and I’ll be interested to see if that lasts or he’ll just go back to being the same old power hungry Nate.

I think there’s a reason they call themselves Zeroes… When they try to do the right think it always backfires and someone, or a lot of people, end up getting hurt. So they can’t call themselves heroes. And I didn’t like the sound of their nightclub and what they were doing to the crowd.

Anyway, I know it sounds like I didn’t like Swarm but I really enjoyed it and I am definitely looking forward to reading the next book. I think I heard that this is a trilogy but don’t hold me to that.

*Thank you Allen & Unwin New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

If you’ve read either Zeroes or Swarm let me know what you thought in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

