Review: United as One by Pittacus Lore.

Title – United as One
Series – Lorien Legacies #7
Author – Pittacus Lore
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 348 pages
Publication Date – 2016 by Michael Joseph, imprint of Penguin Random House
ISBN – 9780718184902
RRP – $26.00
My Rating – ★★★/5

The Mogadorians have invaded Earth. Their warships are over the most populated cities and no country is willing, or able, to take them head on. The Garde may be the only thing that stands a chance of stopping them. But they might need an army of their own if they plan on winning.

The Garde have teamed up with the U.S. military but it may not be enough. They need reinforcements, and may have found some in the most unexpected places. Teenagers all over the planet, including Sam, have developed Legacies. Now John and the others have to get to them before the Mogadorians. If they don’t, the Mogs will use them in their evil plans.

After everything the Mogadorians have taken from John – his home, family, friends and now the person he loves most – he might not want to put innocent people in danger again. John has nothing left to lose and a powerful new Legacy. He can turn himself into the ultimate weapon. Is John prepared to risk his life to save the world, or will he finally realise there’s power in numbers?

I received a copy of United as One from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. This is the last book in the Lorien Legacies series.

I’ve really enjoyed this series so I was excited to finally see how it was going to end. A littlectzd24oukaac86o nervous too because one of the characters I really liked died at the end of the last book and I was expecting it would only be the first of many deaths.

I did like the twist at the end of The Fate of Ten, with some humans getting Legacies. It made it possible for some new characters at the end of that book and in this one. I liked them too. The focus wasn’t really on them but I liked them from the parts they were in.

I have to admit that John thinking he could take down Setrakus and the Mogs by himself way really annoying. I get that he had this powerful Legacy but that would only get him so far before he exhausted it and then what would he do? He’d obviously die. John had the best chance of beating Setrakus, in my opinion anyway, with this Legacy but he still needed help with the Mogs and taking down Setrakus. The Entity, or whatever he was, gave the Garde and humans Legacies for a reason, because they’re stronger together.

Anyway, enough of my rant. I don’t want to give too much away about the ending of United as One. But there was a bit that reminded me of X-Men. If you’ve read this book and have seen the X-Men movies or read the comics (graphic novels… I don’t know) then maybe you’ll know what I’m talking about. It wasn’t a bad thing but all I saw when I was reading this one scene was X-Men.

When I first picked up I Am Number Four I wasn’t sure if I’d like it or not but I’m so glad I gave it a chance. These books have been addictive and so hard to put down. I’ve even laughed out loud a few times. If you haven’t read the Lorien Legacies than I recommend you give it a chance. It’s surprisingly good!

*Thank you Penguin Random House New Zealand for sending me a copy to review* 

If you’ve read the Lorien Legacies leave me a comment and let me know what you thought if the books.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: United as One by Pittacus Lore.

Leave a Reply

