Review: Run by Kody Keplinger.

Title – Run
Author – Kody Keplinger
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 328 pages
Publication Date – July 14th 2016 by Hodder Children’s Books
ISBN – 9781444932706
My Rating – ★★★/5

Bo Dickinson has a bad reputation, an alcoholic mother and a deadbeat father. Everyone is town knows the Dickinsons are bad news, but Bo doesn’t care what any of them think.

Agnes Atwood has never broken her parents overbearing rules. She’s never been on a date or stayed out past curfew. The rules are meant to protect their legally blind daughter, but Agnes isn’t sure what they’re actually protecting her from.

Despite everything, Bo and Agnes become best friends. It’s the kind of friendship that runs deep. So when Bo calls in the middle of the night, with the threat of the police coming after her, Agnes is faced with the biggest choice she’s ever had to make, stay or run?

I received a copy of Run from Hachette New Zealand to review. I’ve never read any of cucpbohusaa97cmKody’s books until now.

When I first read the synopsis of Run I knew I wanted to read it. I’ve only read one other book that’s told in the perspective on someone that’s blind. Agnes is different from the character in the other book, she couldn’t see anything. Agnes can see some things. She can identify Bo not just by the sound of her voice but by the colour of her hair. In the light anyway. When it’s dark Agnes can’t see much, if anything.

Agnes’ parents really annoyed me. They were way too overprotective of her that it felt suffocating just reading it. I have no idea how she put up with it as long as she did. Yes, Agnes was blind but that doesn’t mean she can’t be independent. Her parents should be trying to help her succeed, showing her she can go to college and move out one day, not holding her back and wrapping her is bubble wrap.

Which is why I think Agnes loved Bo so much. Bo never treated her any different from anyone else and never tried to hold her back because she was blind. Bo just accepted Agnes the way she was. It was a little harder for Agnes to accept what Bo told her about her sexuality, but that’s because of what people have told her, it didn’t seem like Agnes was judging her. But because Agnes wants to be Bo’s friend and doesn’t want to judge her, she looks past what people have told her and just sees Bo, who is a good person no matter who she’s attracted to. Because of the family Bo comes from the town expects her to be the same, trouble and easy, but that’s small town judgement for you. Bo is determined to be different.

I really liked the friendship between Agnes and Bo. And while I get why they ran away I don’t think it was the right thing to do, especially for Agnes. Because Bo was keeping secrets, not because she was blind.

Run is told in both Agnes and Bo’s perspectives. Bo tells the story of the present, as they run away from what happened to Bo, while Agnes tells the story of how she and Bo became friends. I really liked how this story was told but I didn’t really like the ending. I mean, I get Bo’s reasons but still. I really enjoyed Run and couldn’t put it down while I was reading it.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

Have you read Run? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

6 thoughts on “Review: Run by Kody Keplinger.

Leave a Reply

