Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer.

Title – Winter
Series – The Lunar Chronicles #4
Author – Marissa Meyer
How I Got It – Won it in a giveaway
Pages – 832 pages
Publication Date – November 10th 2015 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN – 9780312642983
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Princess Winter is admired by the people of Luna for her grace and kindness. Despite the scars on her face she’s said to be even more breathtaking than her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter hates her stepmother and knows she’d never approve of her feeling for her childhood friend and palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana thinks she is. Winter has been undermining her stepmother for years. Together with Cinder and her allies, Winter may even have the power to help start a revolution and win a war that’s been going for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever after?

Winter is the final book in The Lunar Chronicles. Well, not counting Stars Above. I really enjoyed the first three books in this series and I was so excited to finally read the last cq0qn8nvuaaoko8book.

I did feel like Winter was a little too long, it was a little over 800 pages, but at the same time I enjoyed it. I knew Cinder wasn’t just going to Luna and get Levana off the throne straight away but I just felt like some things were dragged out, even though I really liked the book. I know, that makes not sense at all. How can I feel like the book was too long but still enjoy reading it?

I did think that having everyone paired off, like Scarlet with Wolf and Cinder with Kai, was kind of cheesy and predictable but I guess The Lunar Chronicles is a re-telling of fairy-tales and the Disney ones always had happy endings. I am a little embarrassed to say I’ve never read the original version of these stories. I really want to though.

I really liked seeing Winter come out of her shell and stand up for herself, especially to Jacin. I get that he wanted to protect her or whatever but it felt a little suffocating at times. I also thought she was a lot stronger than people gave her credit for. Because it has to take a lot of strength to not use her Lunar gift while knowing that not using it is the reason she was hallucinating. Instead of turning into a cruel person like a lot of the Lunar court, Winter chose to not takes others’ free will away from them and I really liked her for that.

I also thought Levana was a horrible hypocrite. I mean, obviously she’s a horrible person and really thinks a lot of herself but the fact that she wouldn’t let Winter and Jacin be together was annoying. I don’t know if it was just because she didn’t want Winter to be happy and Levana wanted to make an alliance or whatever by marrying Winter off. But I found it worse because Levana forced Winter’s father,who was a palace guard, to marry her. I was hoping Levana would at least be punished for the things she’d done. I wanted Cinder to have one of those devices made that stop Lunars using their gift and have one put in Levana. Not only would she have to live with her own face but she wouldn’t be able to make others’ do what she wanted. I think that would have been a worse ending than she had.

I wasn’t surprised at the decision Cinder made at the end of the book. I felt like she was doing what she needed to do to get Levana off the throne and save the people of Earth and Luna from her. But at the same time it was obvious that she wasn’t comfortable being Princess Selene because she was Cinder. I’m hoping there’s something in Stars Above about her and what Luna is like now.

I have loved The Lunar Chronicles and am looking forward to reading Stars Above whenever I get around to it. And I can’t wait to read Marissa’s new books, Heartless, when it comes out.

If you’ve read the Lunar Chronicles let me know what you thought of the books in the comments.

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer.

Leave a Reply

