Review: American Monsters by Derek Landy.

Title – American Monsters
Series – Demon Road #3
Author – Derek Landy
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 364 pages
Publication Date – August 2016 by HarperCollins
ISBN – 9780008157081
My Rating – ★★★/5

Amber is now angrier and stronger than the last time she faced her parents in Desolation Hill. She’s ready to finally finish things between them. But Bill and Betty have one more desperate play for power up their sleeve.

Amber’s last hope for salvation doesn’t lie in getting vengeance or from the horrible killers – both living and dead – that Amber and Milo have to deal with. Her future lies in her family’s past – with the brother and sister she never knew and the horrible things they both went through…

I received a copy of American Monsters from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. This is cuxakvoueaapojjthe last book in the Demon Road trilogy. I’ve read and reviewed both Demon Road and Desolation. You can click the links if you want to check them out.

I’ve liked the first two books in the trilogy and this one is no different. Even though I found some things cheesy and predictable I’ve enjoyed the story. Although there were some parts in American Monsters that took me by surprise.

I mentioned in my review of Demon Road that I wanted to read it because the synopsis reminded me a little of the TV show Supernatural. It is kind of similar but has the twist of two demons on a road trip and are running from some other demons who want to eat Amber. Until American Monsters anyway.

With American Monsters being the last book in the trilogy I was expecting things with Amber’s parents to finally come to a conclusion, one way or the other. But I didn’t have a clue what exactly that ending would be. I thought it would end one way but it was still surprising. I’m not going to give anything away but I had a love/hate thing going with the ending of this book.

I really liked the main characters in these books. I even liked some of the evil serial killers and other monsters Amber and Milo came across. Not that I liked them as characters but I thought some of them were entertaining but mostly disturbing. I also liked that even though Amber was a demon she didn’t want to be a bad person, like her parents and their friends. She wanted to help people.

I’ve really liked all the books in the Demon Road trilogy and am glad I gave them a chance. They may be cheesy and a little predictable at time for me but I found the books really fast reads and hard to put down.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

If you’ve read this trilogy let me know what you thought in the comments.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

