Review: The Bronze Key by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare.

Title – The Bronze Key
Series – Magisterium #3
Authors – Holly Black & Cassandra Clare
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 256 pages
Publication Date – August 29th 2016 by Corgi Children’s, imprint of Penguin Random House
ISBN – 9780552567701
My Rating – ★★★/5

This should be a time for celebrating – the Enemy of Death is dead and Callum, Tamara, Aaron and Jasper are heroes. But when a student is found dead, Call’s fears are confirmed – there’s a spy at the Magisterium and no one is safe.

Using the magic they’ve been taught, Call, Tamara and Aaron are willing to risk their lives to find the killer. But magic is also dangerous and in the wrong hands it could cause destruction and reveal the deadliest secret of all…

I received a copy of The Bronze Key from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. This is the third book in the Magisterium series.

I’m going to admit that when I read the first book in this series, The Iron Trial, I thought it was a little cheesy and reminded me a lot of Harry Potter. But I’m glad I decided to keep reading the books because the story is getting really good.

I really liked the twist with Callum and the Enemy of Death, or Constantine Madden because the Enemy of Death is a really bad name for a bad guy in my opinion. Anyway, I cumusg7ueaem-0nwas not expecting something like that. Which is why the series is getting better for me. One of the reasons I keep reading the books is because I want to know what will happen.

I was surprised with who the spy was in the Magisterium. I did figure it out when Call and Aaron did a little investigating (I’m being kind of vague on purpose so I won’t give anything away). Before I figured it out I never thought they would be the spy at all. And that’s one of the reasons I really liked this book. I was distracted, expecting the spy to be someone else. But I think that would have been way too obvious.

The ending of The Bronze Key shocked me the most though. There is no way I saw that coming. Now that I think back to the ending there were two things that I didn’t see coming. I think the next book, The Silver Mask, will definitely be interesting and I am really looking forward to reading it when it comes out so I can find out what’s next for Call and his friends.

I would definitely recommend the Magisterium series. Like I said earlier, I wasn’t really sure about The Iron Trial when I first read it but I’m really glad I decided to stick with the series because it just keeps getting better.

*Thank you Penguin Random House New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

If you’ve read the first three books in this series leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

