Review: Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine.

Title – Paper and Fire
Series – The Great Library #2
Author – Rachel Caine
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages –414 pages
Publication Date – July 5th 2016 by Allison & Busby
ISBN – 9780749017323
RRP – $18.99
My Rating – ★★★★/5

The Great Library controls the knowledge of the world with an iron fist, forbidding personal ownership of books.

Jess Brightwell has survived his introduction to the sinister but seductive world of the Library. But his life, and the lives of the people he cares about, will never be the same. As Jess and his friends embark on a dangerous mission to rescue one of their own, they find themselves hunted by deadly automata and are forced to flee Alexandria.

With the Welsh army invading London and the city burning, Jess’s home is no longer safe and he’ll be forced to choose between his friends, his family and the Library that’s willing to sacrifice anything and anyone for ultimate control.

I received a copy of Paper and Fire from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. This is the second book in The Great Library series. You can click the link for my review of the first books, Ink and Bone.

I thought I’d have to re-read Ink and Bone before I started Paper and Fire but I cuxm-3cuiaacfphremembered more than I thought I did. If I did forget something it clearly wasn’t that important.

The power and control the Library has is kind of scary. Even more of their control, or what they’ve been controlling over the years, was revealed in this book. Clearly some people
that work in the Library are scared of progress, in any form, and what would happen to their power if some of the things they’d stopped, like a printing press, were available to everyone. The lengths some people were willing to go to stop progress was insane.

I was glad Paper and Fire picked up not too long after the ending of Ink and Bone, I think it was a couple of months maybe, I’m not really sure. I was also glad that Jess already suspected what actually happened to Thomas so that wasn’t dragged out too long.

I felt like there was more action in this book but to be honest I can’t remember much about Ink and Bone to I can’t really compare them. Jess and his friends have all seen the dark side to the Library and are now prepared to do whatever it takes to do the right thing. Well, most of them anyway. Some of them have grown up wanting to be part of the Library and have seen it as this great thing. So when they finally see the truth it came as a shock but most of them didn’t hesitate to help Jess.

The ending of Paper and Fire was so good and really unexpected. I really have a love/hate thing with cliffhangers. I cannot wait for the next book, Ash and Quill, to come out next year! I have enjoyed both books in this series (I don’t know if it’s a series or trilogy) so far and I cannot wait to find out what’s next for Jess and his friends.

*Thank you Allen and Unwin New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

If you’ve read either book in this series leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

– Aimee.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine.

Leave a Reply

