#RainbowBlogChallenge: Day 1 – Seeing Red.

14996472-10211110620783769-90057801-n_orig

Today is the first day in the Rainbow Blog Challenge. If you missed my first post you can check it out here.

Sunday 20th November
“Seeing Red”
Something that makes you angry about the book community.

There are two prompts for each day of the week. Today I chose to talk about something that frustrates me in the book community which is people rating books before they’ve read them or they’ve even been released.

For example, I looked up A Court of Wings and Ruin on Goodreads to see if it had a rating for this and it has a 4.76 rating and the book doesn’t come out until May next year!!

untitled

I don’t understand how people can rate this, or any book, that they haven’t read.  I have never rated a book before reading it. Ever. I don’t even rate books I’ve DNF’d because obviously I didn’t finish it so I can’t give it a rating.

untitled-1

Most people have given A Court of Wings and Ruin a five-star rating before it’s even released which is ridiculous but to give the book one-star without even reading it is just crazy. I can understand people being excited about the next book in a series coming out but still…. Rating it now? Why? And even if you don’t plan on reading it because you didn’t like the first two books or some other reason, why give it one star if you haven’t read it (which clearly you haven’t) or don’t plan to?? I just don’t understand.

I’m sure there are a lot of books that have been rated before release on Goodreads. I chose to use A Court of Wings and Ruin as my example because the title was recently revealed to I thought it might have gotten some more attention recently. I just looked up King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard (which comes out in February) and it has a 4.26 rating.  This is a book I am really looking forward to but there is no way I am going to give it a rating before I’ve read it. I mean, I don’t know if I’ll like King’s Cage. Yes, I’ve loved both Red Queen and Glass Sword but I’m not going to just assume that I’ll love this one too.

I think I’ve bored you guys long enough. What you think about rating books before they’ve been released?

Tomorrow’s prompt is Time is Precious – Slow vs fast paced books // All about the slumps. Be sure to come back and see which one I choose to talk about.

Also, Elle from Elle.Biblio is holding an international giveaway on her blog for this challenge. You can click the link here to see what you need to do to enter! Good luck if you do.

If you are taking part in the Rainbow Blog Challenge leave a link in the comments to your post so I can check it out.

– Aimee.

23 thoughts on “#RainbowBlogChallenge: Day 1 – Seeing Red.

  1. _booksarelove 💕 says:

    This is such a good thing to write about! It annoys me too when people rate books they haven’t read yet, just takes the fun out of rating the books that you do read!
    Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, it’s so annoying when people rate books before they’ve read them! Just because someone is excited about an upcoming book doesn’t mean they have to give it 5 stars- what if they end up disappointed and want to give it 2 stars after they’ve read it? Great post!😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

