#RainbowBlogChallenge: Day 2 – Time is Precious.

14996472-10211110620783769-90057801-n_1

Today is the second day of the Rainbow Book Challenge. The prompt for today is Time is precious and I chose to talk about book slumps. Because if you’ve read my blog in the last few weeks or months I have had a few of them.

Monday 21st November
“Time is Precious”
Slow vs fast paced books // All about the slumps.

So you would think I’d be able to give some advice about getting out of them as well as talk about how much they suck. Normally I’d put the book down that has either put me in a slump (luckily for me I’ve only had one book do this to me) and then read something I know I’ll love, like Harry Potter, or read a book I’ve been anticipating for months. For me, Nevernight and Gemina both got me out of horrible reading slumps this year. So thanks to Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman!!

img_5984

The most recent slump I decided to reward myself with something I wanted to do. Normally it’s watching an episode of a TV show but because it’s the end of the year and I need to get some Christmas presents done I decided to learn to cross stitch. Which has been very addicting.. I have done three in the couple of weeks. So I’d set a goal, like 50 pages, and then do an hour of cross stitching, then pick the book back up and do it all over again. I found it worked for me anyway. You can reward yourself with anything though, an episode of a TV show you’re behind on, 10 minutes on social media etc.

I have noticed that when it gets to the end of the year that my reading slows down a lot. I have no idea why and it’s kind of annoying because I have so many books to read.

the-8-stages-of-a-reading-slump-l-aywe7p

I don’t know if my slumps have been because I mostly read review books and the books that I buy just sit on my shelves looking pretty. I love being able to review books for publishers and I don’t request books I won’t be interested in but there are a lot of books on my shelves I want to read and have just put them to the side until I have the time to. I’m thinking of reading some of my books over the Christmas holidays to give myself kind of a break. At least that’s the plan for now.

I’d love to hear how you get out of reading slumps. Any help or advice you could give me would be great!

Tomorrow’s prompt is “Because I’m Happy” – Books that made you happy // What makes a good book cover? If you’re taking part in the Rainbow Blog Challenge leave me a link to your post so I can check it out.

Don’t forget Elle.Biblio is holding an INTERNATIONAL giveaway as part of the challenge, it’s not too late to enter! Click the link here to check it out.

– Aimee

Leave a Reply

