#RainbowBlogChallenge: Day 5 – Feeling Blue.

14996472-10211110620783769-90057801-n_1

It’s the fifth day of the Rainbow Blog Challenge and today’s prompt is Feeling Blue. I’ll be listing my favourite books that feature mental health issues. Today’s topic has made me realise I haven’t read a lot of books with this topic. I’m not going to put these in any order though because that’s always too hard and it takes way too long.

I’m sorry this post will be a bit rushed and I can’t get into why I liked the books but I just don’t have time today. I’m really sorry! I wish I had more time to devote to this post because this is an important topic but I’m really busy today.

I also chose to pick YA books with mental health for this post.

nrm_1414507197-gayle-forman-i-was-here-bigI Was Here by Gayle Forman.

18140047

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaria

61t67xhl2cl-_sx321_bo1204203200_

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
This one makes me cry every time I read it.

18460392

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

y648

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
I read this a couple of weeks ago and loved it. I’ll be reviewing this soon.

unknown1-398x600

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

16143347

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
I wasn’t the biggest fan of this, mostly because I didn’t like Cadance but I think it should be here.

20820994

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

25663637

When We Collided by Emery Lord

I really need to read more books with mental illness. I think I’ve read more than this but I just can’t think of them right now. I know Bella was depressed at the start of New Moon but I didn’t include it in this. I probably should have.

If you have some recommendations of books you’ve read and loved with mental illness let me know in the comments. I always love getting book recommendations.

I love that more books are focusing on mental health because it definitely needs to be talked about more. Having a mental illness isn’t something to be ashamed about. I think the more knowledge people have the more they can understand, accept and help the people in their lives that have a mental illness.

Again, these aren’t in any order. I think they’re important and even if I didn’t like a character I did like the book.

Tomorrow’s prompt is “Royalty” – Favourite royal characters // How books and reading have empowered you. Be sure to come back and see which one I choose to talk about.

Also, Elle from Elle.Biblio is holding an international giveaway on her blog for this challenge. You can click the link here to see what you need to do to enter! Good luck if you do.

If you are taking part in the Rainbow Blog Challenge leave a link in the comments to your post so I can check it out.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “#RainbowBlogChallenge: Day 5 – Feeling Blue.

Leave a Reply

