Review: Snow White by Matt Phelan.

Title – Snow White
Author – Matt Phelan
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 216 pages
Publication Date – September 13th 2016 by Candlewick Press
ISBN – 9780763672331
My Rating – ★★★/5

It’s 1928 in New York City and the glam of show business during the pre-Depression era is in full swing. The lights are bright for the financers and their people who entertain them. Life seems good in the Big Apple.

In one family, a young girl has been sent away by her father and ruthless step-mother. She doesn’t return until it’s too late – the market crashed, her father died and her step-mother is even more desperate for money and attention than ever.

I received a copy of Snow White from Walker Books Australia to review. I love fairy-tale 5retellings so I was excited to read a graphic novel retelling. I still need to read the original fairy-tale though…

I don’t know much about the pre-Depression era in America so it was interesting to see a version of Snow White told during that time. Even though that wasn’t the focus of the story.

I really liked the illustrations in this, they were beautiful and very film noir which I’ve never seen in a graphic novel before. Although I don’t read a lot of graphic novels so that may be why…

I don’t think there’s a lot I can say about this, other that I liked it. The story was really faced paced but that’s because it’s only 280+ pages and is a graphic novel so there isn’t much to read. I think it’s a great book for any fan of the original fairy-tales or Snow White that is very hard to buy for.

*Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

