WWW Wednesday [December 7th 2016] –

cf9fcbruiaesbzv

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading –  7
I haven’t done a WWW Wednesday in a while so this may be kind of long… 

I started reading the 20th Anniversary Edition of A Game of Thrones two days ago. This edition is also illustrated and the illustrations are beautiful. Most of them are black and white but there are some that are in colour. I’ll be sharing some of my favourites in my review but not all of them. I don’t want to ruin the experience for anyone. 

I love the Song of Ice and Fire series and I am so grateful to HarperCollins New Zealand for letting me review a copy. I won’t be reviewing the story because this is the third time I’ve read A Game of Thrones so nothing is new to me and I don’t think I can review the story now. But I don’t know yet. 4

Recently Finished –
I finished Blood for Blood on Sunday and I loved it. I read Wolf by  Wolf last year and thought it was really good. This is the sequel and conclusion to Wolf by Wolf.

Blood for Blood picks up where Wolf by Wolf left off. Or a little bit before I think. You get to see the ending in the ballroom from Luca’s point of view and what happened to Felix. Then, the story picks up and it is just as good as Wolf by Wolf and just as sad.

I’ll be reviewing this soon. I still have to write my review but it should be up in the next few weeks. cyoivduuqaaxi5q

I’ve finally read Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor. I thought this was just as good as The Sword of Summer. I love learning about the Norse mythology because the only thing I’ve seen before reading these two books were the Thor movies and I don’t know how accurate those are… But then it’s the same with these books. Riordan always has a modern twist to the myths, like Thor using his hammer to watch Game of Thrones…

The ending of The Hammer of Thor was so good and I cannot wait to read the next book. I can’t believe I have to wait a whole year for it to be released. cx-pbfuvqaayhul

Hotel for the Lost wasn’t the best book I’ve read this year but not the worst. It was really predictable, had some insta-love and a little cheesy in places but I still wanted to finish it. I wanted to know how the story ended even though the tag line on the cover pretty much gives it away.

I’ll be reviewing this soon. Hopefully this week. I think I have one book to review before it but I’ve lost track of what reviews I need to do. I have fallen so far behind it isn’t even funny anymore. Hopefully I can catch up over the holidays but with what’s going on in my life right now I’m not so sure. cx0lrbrucaamaxy

Devolve; The Wolf is written by a New Zealand author and is a post-apocalyptic/dystopian story. The first in a series I think.

This isn’t a very long book but so much happens in it. I don’t want to say too much here because everything is already in my review. You can read that here if you want.

You can also check out the Devolve website here and if you’re interested you can find copies of his book there too. His next books, Devolve; The Bug, will be out next year and I cannot wait to read it. It looks really good.

cxf-mowuuaaygsh

I’ve already reviewed Stealing Snow on my blog so I don’t want to go into this here either. If you want to check out my review of this you can read it here.

I will say that this wasn’t my favourite book of the year but it also wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read.

I do plan on reading the next book to see where the story is going because the ending was interesting and I still want to give it a chance. But I don’t know what I’ll do if Snow, the main character, annoys me as much as she did in this book. But she kind of stepped up at the end when her world fell to pieces around her. cxgemhdusaemcm_

This is the last book I’ll be talking about here. It has been two weeks since I last did a
WWW Wednesday post which is why there are so many books under the ‘Recently Finished’ part of this post.

I loved Girl in Pieces. I still have to review this so I won’t be going into it here but I really enjoyed it. The main character, Charlie, did kind of annoy me at times but I will get into why in my review. That will hopefully be up tomorrow and then I’ll be reviewing Hotel for the Lost on Friday. If I’m remembering correctly…. img_20151019_131922

Reading Next –
I received a copy of The Black Key, the last book in the Lone City trilogy, from Walker Books Australia in October and I need to read the first two books before I can start that. So next on my TBR is The Jewel, the first book in the trilogy.

I read and reviewed the first two books in the trilogy last year so I won’t be doing a review on this. I loved it the first time I read it and I’m sure I’ll love it this time too.

What have you been reading lately? Leave me a comment and let me know.

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [December 7th 2016] –

Leave a Reply

