Review:Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow.

Title – Girl in Pieces
Author – Kathleen Glasgow
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 406 pages
Publication Date – September 2016 by HarperCollins Australia
ISBN – 9781460751053
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Charlotte Davis is a girl in pieces, she’s only seventeen but she’s already lost and seen more than most people do in their lifetime. But Charlie’s figured out a way to let it all go. The pieces of broken glass allow her to wash away the pain until there’s nothing but calm. She doesn’t have to think about what her father did at the river. The fact her best friend isn’t here anymore. Or that her mother has nothing left to give her.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart a little more. But everything still hurts. It hurts so much that Charlie doesn’t care anymore. Sometimes that needs to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

I received a copy of Girl in Pieces from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. This is Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel.

I used to know two girls in high school that cut themselves. Both of them had similar reasons for doing it (I’m not going to get into why here) but it was also because they didn’tcxgemhdusaemcm_ feel like they could get the pain they were feeling out any other way. At the time I had no idea how to help them or what to say. They both made all of us promise not to say anything. I’m not sure if keeping their secrets was the right thing to do or not. I was younger than Charlie was at the time. I think that those experiences definitely helped me connect with Charlie, even though I never cut myself.

I really felt bad for Charlie and what she was going through. It just seemed like she couldn’t catch a break. She did make some choices that frustrated me because I could see they weren’t going to help her and definitely wouldn’t end well. But Charlie is still young and learning what was going to help her to succeed and not end up in the same place she started. Well, not exactly back where she started but repeating the cycle.

But even though Charlie had been through horrible things she also grew a lot and came out the other side a lot stronger than she thought she was. Maybe she didn’t have the right people in her life that were willing to help her when she ended up in the hospital or she just wasn’t ready to be helped. I don’t know. I do know that a person has to be ready to accept help before they can find a way out of the darkness, whether it be alcohol, drugs or something else. I thought she was in kind of a good place when she came out of the hospital but at the same time I also think she set herself up to fail…

I liked the friends Charlie had in this book. I can’t remember their names but I also don’t want to spoil anything by going into things. I will say that there are three friends that I really liked. I also liked Charlie, she’d been through so much in her life but still had hope for her future. Even if she did jump to the wrong conclusions sometimes.

The ending of Girl in Pieces was really good and I loved that Charlies seemed, to me at least, like she was doing the right thing and putting herself first. And Kathleen’s note at the end of the book was really touching and definitely added to Charlie’s story.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy of Girl in Pieces to review*

Have you read Girl in Pieces? Leave me a comment and let me know what you though.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

